Colonial Brown Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
Very very good! i was a little skeptical, as my 9yo picked this out to try for her birthday with her potato soup, but it was her pick and everyone loved it. I think it would be great with added raisins for a snack-ier bread and we'll try a little less sugar (personal taste) next time. Super easy and quick to make. I'm sure we'll make it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
This is a good bread, but not 5 star worthy in my opinion. I like my bread a little sweeter, so next time I make it I'll use a little molasses to sweeten it up. If you like a hearty "wheaty" bread, this one is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Easton, Maine, USA
Living In: Fort Kent, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
Very good. I added a cup of multi-grain oats and about 1/2 teaspoon of almond extract, simply because we had them in the pantry and I was waiting for the oven to finish heating. I think the oats gave it a really good texture. I will definitely be making this bread again, and maybe experimenting a bit more with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
Added 1/4 cu flaxseed and put half of the batter in mini loaf pans. The regular loaf cooked in 50 minutes and tasted good (as expected, rather plain). The mini-loafs were probably overcooked at 40 minutes and too crusty; I will make the recipe again but will not use mini-loafs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
I needed a quick bread since I ran out of bread and did not want to wait for yeast to rise. Instead of the all purpose flour I used ground oatmeal to make it healthy. The texture and density is more like a muffin not bread and the flavor is okay. I will probably decrease the sugar and add dried fruit next time to make it even healthier. I also used the milk and vinegar since I did not have any buttermilk on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brawley, California, USA
Living In: La Jolla, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
my teenage son and his two friends and my two younger kids all loved this bread with butter and cherry jelly on top. they ate one whole loaf the first night. i also loved it but am not getting any help with the leftover second loaf I think I will halve the recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
Wow!!! I have never made a wheat bread without yeast before, and this recipe was really good!!! I made only one loaf, and I used dry milk mixed with water and lemon juice in place of the buttermilk. Thanks for the recipe! My family is enjoying it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
I was looking for a way to use up buttermilk I had sitting in the fridge. Simply a breakfast or snack bread. Good toasted with butter and jelly. Gets old after a while. If I'm going to have a sweet bread, I'd rather it have fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
Really, really good. Followed the recipe exactly and while it's rather dense (but so is banana or other quick breads) this had a healthy yet sweet taste that my whole family liked. This bread is a cross between a whole wheat bread and a sweet bread. It was quick and easy to make. I will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
Pretty good. Would have liked if it had risen a bit more. Toasting it made it completely bland, but fresh from the oven it was yummy. We did get a little sick of the flavor after a few days having it around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristen m

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 71-80 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States