Colonial Brown Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
I love this bread! We make it often in our home. Recipe is perfect as written, although I often add flax seed meal or wheat germ just to hide a little bit of extra nutrition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
Mmmmm...I have always wanted to try Brown Bread and I am glad I did. I only made one loaf (there aren't that many in our house) and I made it with soured milk and molasses. My one caveat is to make sure that you really mix it well. I did not mix mine enough and ended up with white streaks in mine. That is my fault though, not that of the recipe's. I served mine warm with vegetarian baked beans, ham, Swiss Cheese, and salad for dinner and everyone liked it. Thanks so much for the recipe. I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wauseon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
I made this early this morning because I realized that we were out of bread AFTER my husband left for work. Drrr. I didn't have buttermilk, so I did the old vinegar and whole milk trick. This bread terrifically simple and really didn't take a whole lot of thought on my part. (This recipe is great for Mom's who haven't had their coffee yet and are trying to juggle kids and breakfast.) It was easy enough to put in the oven with the Peach Cobbler Bread I made and they both were done about the same time. Dense bread but super yummy. I didn't need the whole hour, seems to me that it really only took about 45 minutes in my oven and it was done. I'd like to try it with half molasses next time and see if that makes it even better. I didn't get a picture of it because we played outside until lunch and by the time I made lunch, my kids and I were ready to eat. When I remembered to take a picture, the loaf was half demolished! I had a slice with natural chunky peanut butter and my kids ate it with butter. This is going in my "must make again" recipe pile. Really a nice easy bread recipe when you find you've run out and forgotten to buy more! EDITED TO ADD LATER THE SAME DAY: I used the remaining half of this loaf in the Garlic Bread Fantastique. So. Good. My whole family liked this bread so much that I made another one after dinner. This one's a keeper. EDITED TO ADD AGAIN 08/19/08: Made this again tonight. Goes really well with Christmas Eve Beef Stew from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
I actually like that this recipe, as stated, makes two loaves of bread because it gave me an opportunity to makes it as stated, then alter the second loaf. The original version is pretty tasty - a slightly sweet whole wheat bread. I suggest testing for doneness at about 50 minutes - at 55 mine were a bit darker than I would have liked, but fortunately the bread was still moist. It was good warm, but even better toasted the next day with some butter and jam. I could see this beinf used as a sandwich bread for maybe chicken salad, especially the fruited kind, but it is definitely sweeter that regular whole wheat bread. To the second loaf, I added a heaping tbsp of honey, same amount of wheat germ, some cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves, and some chopped dried prunes and raisins to make it more of a quick bread. I like the fruited version better, but still found the original to be enjoyable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
Husband loved, as well as the kids!I didn't changs a thing. Really easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Center Barnstead, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
Really good fresh with homemeade soup. A little sweet so my kids ate it up with no complaining. Also good as french toast with the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
I made this bread about a week ago, and it was wonderful. I loved it fresh out of the oven with some butter, and that was delicious. Then I made a sandwich using it, and that was perfect too. I was expecting it to be cumbly, as I've heard happens with whole wheat flour, but it did not crumble at all. I will be making this again! It doesn't compare to any other bread I've tried! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
This is the best bread ive ever tasted! I followed the recipe exactly and was very impress. Dont change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsea

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Campbell River, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
Very very good! i was a little skeptical, as my 9yo picked this out to try for her birthday with her potato soup, but it was her pick and everyone loved it. I think it would be great with added raisins for a snack-ier bread and we'll try a little less sugar (personal taste) next time. Super easy and quick to make. I'm sure we'll make it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
This is a good bread, but not 5 star worthy in my opinion. I like my bread a little sweeter, so next time I make it I'll use a little molasses to sweeten it up. If you like a hearty "wheaty" bread, this one is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Easton, Maine, USA
Living In: Fort Kent, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States