Colonial Brown Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Was going to half the recipe, but decided to make the two loaves. Glad I did! This is a great recipe exactly the way it's written. I used my big mixer with the dough hook and the speed on 2. Perfect texture, crust and taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
I am allergic to yeast, so I have been trying recipes for a bread that I can eat but also that my family likes. This is the best so far. I only had one loaf pan, so I halved the recipe. I can't have buttermilk so I used 2% with a tablespoon of lemon juice for each cup and let it sit for a while. Baked at 350* for 45 min.s not 1 hour. It turned out perfectly. It is a recipe that could be changed by the amount of sugar and spices added. I think I will try it with nuts and cinnamon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skunkee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mcdonough, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
Excellent recipe. I didn't have whole wheat flour so I substituted all all-purpose flour instead. It turned out great, even though I used 1 cup sour milk (1 tbsp vinegar in a liquid measuring cup, filled to the 1-cup line with milk) for each cup of buttermilk. I even used skim milk. For one of the loaves, I replaced 2/3 cup of flour with All-Bran cereal, and added cinnamon, vanilla, nutmeg and ground ginger. It was nice, kind of like a fat-free bran muffin. Such a simple and easy recipe on which you can base all kinds of different quick breads! Best of all, it's virtually fat free and has no eggs. I made it for breakfast this morning because I ran out of store-bought bread and eggs, but I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl in Canada

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
So great! I only did half a recipe. It is better the first day but reheating helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
Despite the word "sweet" in the descriptor line, I did not expect this to be as sweet as it is. It is rather tasty - next time I'll cut some of the sugar and try for a more savory version. As is, this was a great tea bread with honey butter, or jam, or made into a decadant french toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willow Grove, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Montrose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
This was very tasty. I made no changes to the recipe. (Isn't it nice when no changes are necessary?!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
This recipe is an excellent! Thank you! It can be more healthy if you use non-fat powdered milk with vinegar to substitute for the butter milk. It has no reflection in the end result. Sunflower seeds, honey, molasses, the options are endless. Muffins too! Be prepared that it will erupt like a volcano as baking. Enjoy and thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynCocks

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Very easy to make and yummy too! My 2 1/2 year old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KarasMom06

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
This is the best bread in the world and so versatile. I have made it with all wheat flour when I ran out of all-purpose. I have used sugar substitute for my diabetic mom. I have added oats, wheat germ, flax seed, grape nuts, and walnuts and raisin to make a breakfast bread. We bake this daily and use it for everything. We make sandwiches with it, toast it,or eat it plain. It is great sliced thick with soup, chowder, or stew. One of our favorite things to do is to roast it in the oven with garlic butter for a side with pasta, then we cut the left overs up into cubes, roast them again and use them in meatloaf or stuffing or on salads. I don't eat butter so i like to toast or roast this bread and then dip it in seasoned olive oil. Yumm! It is addicting. Not only is this bread delicious but it is sooo easy to whip up. No one in my family thinks twice about it. Everyone over the age of 10 has the recipe memorized. I take this to any meal I go to and have given this recipe out at least a dozen times. Thank you for a delicious, easy, healthy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
This is an excellent recipe--totally a snap to make, and my family loved it. I served it up with soup one night, then the next, we slathered it with jam for a snack with some tea. I usually do half a recipe, but I bet this would freeze well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States