Colonial Brown Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
That was easy!!!! The leavening is the soda reacting with the buttermilk. It is important to mix this just until the dry ingredients are incorporated. Get the batter in the pans and in the oven for best results. Next time I might cut the sugar in half to get a more savory bread, though this was excellent and easy just as is!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela J Hagen-French

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rainier, Oregon, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
This was very good and SO easy! One of the few recipes where I can actually preheat the oven first, because in the few minutes it takes to get the oven to temperature, I can throw the ingredients together and have the pan ready. I made it for the first time a week ago, and made a second batch already today. Made it exactly as written (half recipe each time) except I didn't have buttermilk either time - used vinegar the first time and lemon juice today, both times with skim milk. Couldn't tell the difference. Great way to get whole grains, but I'm looking forward to trying it with some added coconut, pecans and cinnamon. I was going to do that today but my husband wanted it just the way we had it the first time. We've eaten it plain, with light butter, pumpkin butter (from this site), strawberry preserves... all good. Used a Pyrex loaf pan sprayed well with cooking spray and they didn't stick at all. The middle of mine was still a little mushy when the outside was done, so I may need to try tweaking that a bit. Best hot from the oven, but also great as toast the next day. With a hearty soup, would make a great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Very yum and beautiful texture. I will make this many more times. I've already shared this recipe with friends. Thanks IleneG for the suggestion to mask the baking soda taste with cinnomon. One friend suggested adding raisins and nuts. Another friend said it was fantastic when spread with crnchy peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
What a wonderful, easy bread! My whole family loved it and they don't usually like wheat breads! I did the recipe as is except I never buy buttermilk; I do the lemon juice with milk substitution. I will DEFINITELY make this bread again. Thanks ANNETTE1951 for a terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Dauterman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northwood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Beyond adding a bit of oatmeal for texture, I stayed true to the recipe. I did cut the portions in half to make one loaf rather than two. Next time I'll add a bit more sugar, some vanilla and some mashed bananas. I think it will make an excellent banana bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Very yummy! Lots of versatility! Will make again lots more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woods Cross, Utah, USA
Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Very tasty and simple bread! I love that I can make it in the afternoon and not spend all day making bread for dinner. I decreased the sugar as others recommended to 3/4 c. and it was plenty sweet. My family said it tasted a bit like cornbread. It worked great with our roasted vegetable soup. It was great as toast this morning for breakfast too. Thanks for the great recipe. I'll make it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
This was my first "brown bread" and it came out wonderful! I did do the substitute for the buttermilk since I was snowed in and had milk and white vinrgar Next time I will add raisins. I will be making this again. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Belchertown, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Such great results for such little effort! Warm, out of the oven, with a bit of butter...Unbel I thought for sure I was having dessert!! It is a bit like a pumpkin bread (texture wise), so I can see adding fruit to it to make it a breakfast bread or snack. Unbeleivable that there is no oil or butter! It will be great for the kids school lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Bank, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Absolutely delicious! I bake a lot of bread and this is would be one of my favorites even if it weren't so darned easy and quick. I took one person's advice and substituted 1/2 cup molasses for 1/2 cup of the brown sugar. It came out moist & beautifully textured. This is a Keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States