Colonial Brown Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Loved the flexibility and speed of this bread. Needed a dinnertime bread and had forgotten to bake a proper loaf earlier in the day so this was an ideal substitute. Made 1 loaf per recipe - perfect for our chicken dinner (with butter). Made 2nd loaf with flax seed, vanilla, cinnamon and raisins to use for breakfast/healthy kids snack. Both turned out great. Easy to figure out sweet add-ins for breakfast type bread - hoping to find more savory add-ins for dinner bread even though it was good as described with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
Easy and delicious - no rising!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Thank you very much for posting this recipe. My only fault with this bread is how addicting it is. It's good with sweet toppings (like jam) and just as good with savory. Simple to make and delicious to eat--my kind of recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
followed recipe; however, used skim milk and lemon juice. Bread was dense, but it had a very odd, almost fishy odor. We didn't care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
This was excellent, especially when warm and fresh. It's the easiest bread recipe I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
This was easy and helped me use up some sour milk without needing to add butter and eggs, which was nice. It cooked well and was very sweet-good for eating by itself, but it doesn't really go with meals. Also, my husband complained that he could taste the bitter baking soda on the second day :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
I use powdered buttermilk mix (found in the baking aisle), so I always have all the ingredients on hand. This is so fast and so yummy. And it's whole grain...a healthier option for a starch side at dinnertime. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nomnom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
I just put this recipe together and it is now in the oven. But I weighed my flour instead of using a measuring cup. I added two more cups of buttermilk to absorb all the dry flour mixture and covered the top of one loaf with brown sugar and the other with raisins and brown sugar. I hope it turns out! I'll let you know as soon as it is done. My question is, is this supposed to look like a tea bread batter at the end of mixing or a thick wet dough. Mine looked more like a thick wet dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
This bread is wonderful! I added dried cranberries and chopped walnuts. Everyone loves it in our family toasted with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bay Springs, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
I was not really impressd with this bread. It was heavy with dry crumb and very little taste. I'm not going to be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rjd1247

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodville, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States