Colombian Stewed Flank Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
this was really good, I added a little more salt when I seared for the meat and whem i put all the tomatoes, and no cumin cause I personaly dont like it. I just added some garlic powder and some paprika. I cooked for two hours, and chopped the tomatoes really small. I also cooked it with half water and have a beer, it was soooooo good. nice and juicy and flavorful. thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange Cove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
This smelled so good as it was cooking. I wanted something different and this was it. My only mistake was that I left it alone too long and it burned a little on the bottom. Even still, Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Clarence, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
I must admit that I didn't have beef boullion (the store was out) so I tried to substitute with beef broth and it didn't work out. I'm not sure if this was the only reason we weren't huge fans, but my husband and I felt like it was missing something. It definitely needed more flavoring, I will try to add more if I make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
This is an awesome recipe. I've also made it with oxtail instead of flank steak, and it was perhaps even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
Good recipe. Only one but: We, Colombians, suffer from "cuminitis". We like to put cumin on everything. It is not necessary on this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
awesome recipe. if you have anymore like this I would love to take a peek at them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
Pretty good flavor... however there was too much liquid. Because the tomatoes give off so much liquid already, I think the water amount is too much. But it was still tasted good and the meat was pretty tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
Very good! I'm a little confused by the reviewer that thinks Columbians overdo cumin - I can't see how this dish could be called 'Columbian' without it. A bonus to this recipe is the excellent broth you are left with - I see soup in my future. Thanks for the recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
Excellent!! We all loved this dish....I made this in the crockpot and it turned out perfect....I may actually add more cumin next time....served with sliced avacado, warm tortillas and sour cream....sooo yummy! Thanks Wifey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
We liked this-the long stewing process made the flank steak very tender and flavorful. I served it over rice with a side of black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Tuscan Flank Steak

See how to make a simple but amazing marinated flank steak for the grill.

Marinated Flank Steak

See how to make a delicious marinade for flank steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States