Colombian Stewed Flank Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
This is very good - almost like my Colombian friends' versions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hotdiggitydogs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
I am not sure I would use flank steak in the future. Enjoyed the recipe and the flavor but felt the meat was dry and not tender. Probably use a cut of beef with more fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What you cooking Willis?

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Pullman, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
This is a great recipe. Serve it with rice and plantains to get the real Colombian experience. Authentic Colombian dishes are not served with pico de gallo, sour cream and tortillas, leave those for Mexican dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I loved the ease of this recipe and the delicious flavor. That said, both my husband and I had difficulty eating the meat because it was difficult to chew. I cooked it for 2 hours and the meat shredded easily so I'm not sure what I did wrong. When I reheat the leftovers I will cook it longer and hope that the meat is more tender. Other than that, we loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
excellent with white corn tacos fried in corn oil, topped with fresh cilantro and lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
I made this in a crockpot (on high for 4 hours) and it was good, but not great. The meat was tender but the flavor was ok at best. I would make this again in a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
Comfort food at its best! I’m not Colombian nor have I tasted a lot of Colombian dishes, but I do know a good stewed steak (or Swiss steak) when I taste one. My original plan was to have shredded beef tacos, but once I tasted it, I knew I had to go for the old fashioned meat and potatoes style dinner. As a last minute change of plans, I decided to pair it up with “Cilantro and Garlic Potatoes” (recipe from this site).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
WOW Ms. Wifey! This was VERY good!!! I've tried many shredded beef recipes on here and none of them floated my or my hubs' boat - until now. :) Other than my hubs commenting about the mild, subtle flavor, we both thoroughly enjoyed this! My hubs added some fresh salsa to his meat, but I ate mine plain (with some of the yummy tomato, onion and garlic on top!). As Wifey did, I also served my stewed meat with (white) corn tortillas, avocado slices and refried beans (sprinkled with queso fresco... yum!). To appease my beans-hating husband, I also made some Mexican rice to serve on the side. I was afraid that my steak would be tough even after the suggested 2 hour cooking timeframe (I checked after an hour and was worried), but it shredded BEAUTIFULLY! My neighbor stopped by to visit and had a taco herself. All of us couldn't BELIEVE how good this was. Thanks SO much for sharing your recipe, Wifeyluvs2cook! You made me look like a rock star. If only my neighbor knew how easy this was to throw together.... Ha! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
I really like this recipe. It's so easy to make, and tastes great. The rest of my family wasn't sold on it. Leftovers were even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crimson buckeye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewis Center, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
I have had this saved for a while now, I finally got the chance to make it this weekend. I doubled the recipe to feed 10. I followed the recipe exactly and they turned out great, for the little taste I got! They scarfed (is this a word?) it down and only left me a few shreds to try, since I was cooking tortillas for them. The little shreds I tried were awesome tho! Also, didnt even get a pic, next time I will. This must be a keeper if its gone that fast. I served it with re-fry beans, mexican rice and tortillas. Thanks for sharing this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Marinated Flank Steak

See how to make a delicious marinade for flank steaks.

Tuscan Flank Steak

See how to make a simple but amazing marinated flank steak for the grill.

Flank Steak Marinade

What's cooking in Detroit? A flank steak marinade to wow them at the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States