Colombian Stewed Flank Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
I have had this saved for a while now, I finally got the chance to make it this weekend. I doubled the recipe to feed 10. I followed the recipe exactly and they turned out great, for the little taste I got! They scarfed (is this a word?) it down and only left me a few shreds to try, since I was cooking tortillas for them. The little shreds I tried were awesome tho! Also, didnt even get a pic, next time I will. This must be a keeper if its gone that fast. I served it with re-fry beans, mexican rice and tortillas. Thanks for sharing this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
Very good! I'm a little confused by the reviewer that thinks Columbians overdo cumin - I can't see how this dish could be called 'Columbian' without it. A bonus to this recipe is the excellent broth you are left with - I see soup in my future. Thanks for the recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
Excellent!! We all loved this dish....I made this in the crockpot and it turned out perfect....I may actually add more cumin next time....served with sliced avacado, warm tortillas and sour cream....sooo yummy! Thanks Wifey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
My family really raved about this one. It was delicious. I would definitely try it in the slow cooker or possibly give it another half an hour of simmer time, because mine could have been just a tiny bit more tender. I made homemade pico and rice and beans with this...it was a huge hit in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
This is a wonderful recipe! I never write reveiws for the recipes I use, but this was a huge hit for the WHOLE family! The first night I made it I realized at the last minute I had no cummin. So I cooked it without, which resulted in swiss steak (very good too) Now I am cooking it with the cumin, a beer, I added more garlic, and colorful bell peppers, and a little extra cummin. I had to make enough to feed my extended family too because they thought it looked so YUMMY! Kudos to wifeyluvs2cook! Even the Cuban at my work LOVED this and said it definetly needs the cummin to set off the sweetness! KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I absolutely loved this. I simmered for about 2 1/2 hours. I served over Mexican rice. The next day I simmered the leftover steak (I used 6 big steaks) and rice together and served inside steamed tortillas. We liked it even better the 2nd time around. Nice change for steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
this was really good, I added a little more salt when I seared for the meat and whem i put all the tomatoes, and no cumin cause I personaly dont like it. I just added some garlic powder and some paprika. I cooked for two hours, and chopped the tomatoes really small. I also cooked it with half water and have a beer, it was soooooo good. nice and juicy and flavorful. thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange Cove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
This was OK, next time I might use a different cut of meat. Mine wasn't as tender as everyone else stated in their review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZZY9VOLT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
Comfort food at its best! I’m not Colombian nor have I tasted a lot of Colombian dishes, but I do know a good stewed steak (or Swiss steak) when I taste one. My original plan was to have shredded beef tacos, but once I tasted it, I knew I had to go for the old fashioned meat and potatoes style dinner. As a last minute change of plans, I decided to pair it up with “Cilantro and Garlic Potatoes” (recipe from this site).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
I really like this recipe. It's so easy to make, and tastes great. The rest of my family wasn't sold on it. Leftovers were even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crimson buckeye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewis Center, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Tuscan Flank Steak

See how to make a simple but amazing marinated flank steak for the grill.

Marinated Flank Steak

See how to make a delicious marinade for flank steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States