Colombian Stewed Flank Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
This is very good - almost like my Colombian friends' versions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hotdiggitydogs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
This is a great recipe. Serve it with rice and plantains to get the real Colombian experience. Authentic Colombian dishes are not served with pico de gallo, sour cream and tortillas, leave those for Mexican dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I loved the ease of this recipe and the delicious flavor. That said, both my husband and I had difficulty eating the meat because it was difficult to chew. I cooked it for 2 hours and the meat shredded easily so I'm not sure what I did wrong. When I reheat the leftovers I will cook it longer and hope that the meat is more tender. Other than that, we loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
excellent with white corn tacos fried in corn oil, topped with fresh cilantro and lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
I made this in a crockpot (on high for 4 hours) and it was good, but not great. The meat was tender but the flavor was ok at best. I would make this again in a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
Comfort food at its best! I’m not Colombian nor have I tasted a lot of Colombian dishes, but I do know a good stewed steak (or Swiss steak) when I taste one. My original plan was to have shredded beef tacos, but once I tasted it, I knew I had to go for the old fashioned meat and potatoes style dinner. As a last minute change of plans, I decided to pair it up with “Cilantro and Garlic Potatoes” (recipe from this site).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
WOW Ms. Wifey! This was VERY good!!! I've tried many shredded beef recipes on here and none of them floated my or my hubs' boat - until now. :) Other than my hubs commenting about the mild, subtle flavor, we both thoroughly enjoyed this! My hubs added some fresh salsa to his meat, but I ate mine plain (with some of the yummy tomato, onion and garlic on top!). As Wifey did, I also served my stewed meat with (white) corn tortillas, avocado slices and refried beans (sprinkled with queso fresco... yum!). To appease my beans-hating husband, I also made some Mexican rice to serve on the side. I was afraid that my steak would be tough even after the suggested 2 hour cooking timeframe (I checked after an hour and was worried), but it shredded BEAUTIFULLY! My neighbor stopped by to visit and had a taco herself. All of us couldn't BELIEVE how good this was. Thanks SO much for sharing your recipe, Wifeyluvs2cook! You made me look like a rock star. If only my neighbor knew how easy this was to throw together.... Ha! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
I really like this recipe. It's so easy to make, and tastes great. The rest of my family wasn't sold on it. Leftovers were even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crimson buckeye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewis Center, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
I have had this saved for a while now, I finally got the chance to make it this weekend. I doubled the recipe to feed 10. I followed the recipe exactly and they turned out great, for the little taste I got! They scarfed (is this a word?) it down and only left me a few shreds to try, since I was cooking tortillas for them. The little shreds I tried were awesome tho! Also, didnt even get a pic, next time I will. This must be a keeper if its gone that fast. I served it with re-fry beans, mexican rice and tortillas. Thanks for sharing this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
My family really raved about this one. It was delicious. I would definitely try it in the slow cooker or possibly give it another half an hour of simmer time, because mine could have been just a tiny bit more tender. I made homemade pico and rice and beans with this...it was a huge hit in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Tuscan Flank Steak

See how to make a simple but amazing marinated flank steak for the grill.

Marinated Flank Steak

See how to make a delicious marinade for flank steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States