Colombian Lentils Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
This is really good and simple to make. I took the advice from the other reviews and kept a close watch on the soup and added more water as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MJ4OSU
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
We are currently on the Daniel Fast and this was a great recipe for a meal! I added garlic and also used a can of petite diced tomatoes and added some bell pepper since this was for a meal. I plan to make this again and experiment with other veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MJ4OSU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yukon, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Very tasty. With some changes, this is a 5 star recipe. It definitely needs more liquid and time to cook, if you don't want hard lentils and potatoes. I used 1 cup vegetable broth and 1 1/2 cups water, and added carrots, garlic, thyme and cayenne pepper. Next time, I might try this in the slow cooker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookitup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Used 2 parts vegetable broth to 1 part water. Definitely needs more liquid than called for. Keep a close eye on it so the lentils don't burn to the bottom of the pan. Served over jasmine rice. Good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
I typically eat lentils the traditional Indian way, in a daal, (essentially, lentil soup) but really liked the concept for this dish. I added some green chillies for extra heat, a couple bay leaves for the aroma, and a cup of large shell pasta to make it 'heartier' - the combination was amazing! Will definitely be making this more often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Very good recipe.. I love cumin so it was up my alley.. added a bit of garlic, pepper, and pinch of chili flakes to "up it". It needed extra water as many have commented just to keep from going dry. Also, around my house this was only a healthy ONE serving.. not three.. LOL..(I did use it as the "main" dish with a bit of yogurt) Keep up the good work. I used sweet potatoes instead of yellow just because I needed to use it. A good, easy, quick dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brokn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
As written, one star. After adding about four more cups of water than called for in the recipe and cooking for about another 30-45 min to avoid partially raw potatoes, this was finally done. This smells great while cooking but the taste is bland to the extreme. Some recipes are worth "fixing" to your liking, this isn't one of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
I didn't quite make this recipe exactly as stated, but it was great! I used chicken broth instead of water (and left out the salt), which turned out great! I had to add more water when adding the potatoes, like other reviewers said, but it was still not soupy-- I served it over a rice/bulgar mix. Very happy with it! I also added more veggies (peas and carrots), which were very good in it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Five stars for being an inexpensive, easy, and delicious meal. I doubled the recipe, added a couple cloves of minced garlic, and used a can of Rotel tomatoes with green chilies. We will be making this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
Really tasty my husband loved it and the next day was even better thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arwerner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Graton, California, USA
Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Braised Black Lentils

See how to make black lentils braised in chicken stock.

Scallops with Arugula, Lentils, and Butter Beans

Beautifully seared scallops with wilted arugula, butter beans, and lentils.

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States