College Student's Saucy Chickpeas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I loved this recipe, just like one I make on the stove, only faster! You can add spinach (canned) too, and it's great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Snowflake, Arizona, USA
Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
This recipe gave me a great start and often you just need a basic idea to get you started. I started by sauteing mustard seed in a bit of olive oil. It pops for a while, then add chopped garlic, spices such as curry, basil, cumin, red pepper, etc. and saute a bit more. Then add tomatoes and garbanzos with some veggie broth and the key ingredient, 1-2 T fresh lime juice, and simmer for 15-20 minutes (while the rice is cooking!) yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Very similar to chana masala. A can of coconut milk 'smoothes' out the curry flavor- and don't forget to add sauteed onions, if you can, it totally makes the dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tegan Mally
Home Town: South Haven, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
I make a variation of this recipe all the time - saute garlic and onion in EVOO, add a can of chickpeas and a can of tomatoes. Throw in some curry powder, red pepper and whatever else (turmeric, ginger, garam masala).... Delish :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
Easy, low fat, fits with Weight Watcher's Core Program, great summer lunch mostly from the pantry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
Not bad.. pretty quick and simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUPERGROUP7

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: May 26, 2012
Not sure why my review was deleted. Anywho- this was a good, basic dish. I don't have curry powder, so I used a bit more of the garlic powder, added some crushed red pepper flakes, and a bit of pizza sauce for added flavor. Thanks for the post, YummySmells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Photo by McBacon
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
Easy enough, but not very great tasting. It needs something- but it's okay for a quick lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
It wasn't bad, but you can get tired of the strong curry taste very quickly. Maybe it would work better in a smaller portion as a side-dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
I used a half a can of diced tomatoes that also included onions and green peppers. I also added a bit of cumin (to taste) and served it over rice. My boyfriend loved it! It tastes even better the next day. This recipe shows some promise...play around with it, I say.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Roasted Chickpeas

Canned chickpeas are seasoned and roasted to a crispy, crunchy finish.

Saucy Brussels Sprouts

Learn how to make tasty Brussels sprouts in a warm orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States