College Student's Saucy Chickpeas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
I make a variation of this recipe all the time - saute garlic and onion in EVOO, add a can of chickpeas and a can of tomatoes. Throw in some curry powder, red pepper and whatever else (turmeric, ginger, garam masala).... Delish :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Very similar to chana masala. A can of coconut milk 'smoothes' out the curry flavor- and don't forget to add sauteed onions, if you can, it totally makes the dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tegan Mally
Home Town: South Haven, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
I used a half a can of diced tomatoes that also included onions and green peppers. I also added a bit of cumin (to taste) and served it over rice. My boyfriend loved it! It tastes even better the next day. This recipe shows some promise...play around with it, I say.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
This recipe gave me a great start and often you just need a basic idea to get you started. I started by sauteing mustard seed in a bit of olive oil. It pops for a while, then add chopped garlic, spices such as curry, basil, cumin, red pepper, etc. and saute a bit more. Then add tomatoes and garbanzos with some veggie broth and the key ingredient, 1-2 T fresh lime juice, and simmer for 15-20 minutes (while the rice is cooking!) yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I loved this recipe, just like one I make on the stove, only faster! You can add spinach (canned) too, and it's great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Snowflake, Arizona, USA
Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2007
I'm really into chickpeas right now so I thought I'd give this one a try. I made a couple of changes to this recipe. I sauted some garlic and onion then added the chickpeas and tomatoes. I used the stovetop rather than the microwave. I also cut down on the amout of curry, I used 3 tsp and it was enough for me. I made white rice to go with it. This recipe was ok, although I don't know if I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
A little bland- but perfect for a college student! Cheap and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: May 26, 2012
Not sure why my review was deleted. Anywho- this was a good, basic dish. I don't have curry powder, so I used a bit more of the garlic powder, added some crushed red pepper flakes, and a bit of pizza sauce for added flavor. Thanks for the post, YummySmells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
The only good thing about this was how easy it was to make. The portions seem off -- WAY too much curry powder. All in all, it was a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Waaaaaaay too much curry powder. It really wasn't good at all I'm afraid :[
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Roasted Chickpeas

Canned chickpeas are seasoned and roasted to a crispy, crunchy finish.

Saucy Brussels Sprouts

Learn how to make tasty Brussels sprouts in a warm orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States