College Student's Saucy Chickpeas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2007
I'm really into chickpeas right now so I thought I'd give this one a try. I made a couple of changes to this recipe. I sauted some garlic and onion then added the chickpeas and tomatoes. I used the stovetop rather than the microwave. I also cut down on the amout of curry, I used 3 tsp and it was enough for me. I made white rice to go with it. This recipe was ok, although I don't know if I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
I used a half a can of diced tomatoes that also included onions and green peppers. I also added a bit of cumin (to taste) and served it over rice. My boyfriend loved it! It tastes even better the next day. This recipe shows some promise...play around with it, I say.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
A little bland- but perfect for a college student! Cheap and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
Not bad.. pretty quick and simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUPERGROUP7

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
I make a variation of this recipe all the time - saute garlic and onion in EVOO, add a can of chickpeas and a can of tomatoes. Throw in some curry powder, red pepper and whatever else (turmeric, ginger, garam masala).... Delish :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I loved this recipe, just like one I make on the stove, only faster! You can add spinach (canned) too, and it's great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Snowflake, Arizona, USA
Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
This recipe gave me a great start and often you just need a basic idea to get you started. I started by sauteing mustard seed in a bit of olive oil. It pops for a while, then add chopped garlic, spices such as curry, basil, cumin, red pepper, etc. and saute a bit more. Then add tomatoes and garbanzos with some veggie broth and the key ingredient, 1-2 T fresh lime juice, and simmer for 15-20 minutes (while the rice is cooking!) yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Very similar to chana masala. A can of coconut milk 'smoothes' out the curry flavor- and don't forget to add sauteed onions, if you can, it totally makes the dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tegan Mally
Home Town: South Haven, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by crunchy
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
Easy enough, but not very great tasting. It needs something- but it's okay for a quick lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crunchy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Waaaaaaay too much curry powder. It really wasn't good at all I'm afraid :[
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Roasted Chickpeas

Canned chickpeas are seasoned and roasted to a crispy, crunchy finish.

Saucy Brussels Sprouts

Learn how to make tasty Brussels sprouts in a warm orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States