Colleen's Slow Cooker Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
This was OUTSTANDING!! Made as exactly as written. Kids and adults loved it. Excellent meal - actually used a roaster chicken for ease. Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Like a good deal of the other reviewers, it was a little soupy, more like a gumbo then a jambalaya not to mention, yea the spice was simply too much. I like a good deal of spice, but there was just too much heat to the point that it didn't add to the flavors but simply over powered them. If I were to make this again, I might do away with the cayenne pepper and sticking with the cajun spice alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Made this exactly as written, and is was PERFECT. I stir in some cooked brown rice at the end, and this is always a big hit with our family, including my 2 and 4 year olds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Whitmore Lake, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This was amazing. I added the rice when it was served so it did not soak up alot of the liquid, so this was like a thicker soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
This was delicious. .of course I added my own touch with some help with other reviews...I only had one 14 oz can of diced tomatoes so I also used some cherry tomatos I had in the fridge I cut them in half..I added 2 tsps fresh minced garlic..no cayenne so I used 4 tablespoons tony catchers creole seasoning and sprinkled red pepper flakes...also used beef smoked sausage...and browned the sausage chicken onion pepper and celery in a pan before hand but only for a few mins..drained and added to crock pot..also I dont like thyme so I used sage....added can of tomato paste..and cooked rice in chicken broth seperatly but only half cooked the rice and added it when I added the shrimp and turnes it on high for the last hour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
WOW just..wow
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thecritic

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
This is my husband's and my FAVORITE meal. I put the tomatoes in the food processor, add 1/4 tsp salt, and cook in a pressure cooker. I cook it on 10 lbs pressure for 20 minutes without the shrimp. I start on high, wait for the pressure gauge to jiggle, turn down the temp, and cook for 20. I then release the pressure, add the shrimp (2 lbs), replace the lid, and cook another 5 minutes. We serve it with 10-minute white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
MY FAMILY WENT NUTS OVER THIS RECIPE....THEY LOVED IT. I had to make a few altercations because most of them don't eat pork (I am strictly a seafood eater no other meats....so I didn't get any of this....made a separate seafood only batch for myself). I used turkey and beef sausage for my families pot full. It was not hard to put any of it together I did have to go out and purchase a REAL slow cooker... lol mine was only a 2qt so besides that and a lot of chopping it was a snap. I didn't have time to do the eight hours so I put it on high and did the 4 hours adding the shrimp last (as suggested) it was a hot (not for taste but as in great) hit... Thanks for the different suggestions and Colleen thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I dont make alot of cajun food, but I do enjoy the spices in cajun/creole cooking. I made this recipe as instructed. It smells delicious while it was cooking. I took other reviewers suggestion to cook the rice in its original juice last 1/2 hour of cooking (so it isn't so runny). But I was just unimpressed with the flavors. I am not sure what spice overpowered the dish, but I just didn't like it. My husband ate it and felt the same way. Won't be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
This was sooooo good :) Will be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,304) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Colleen's Slow Cooker Jambalaya

Try this authentic taste of the Bayou--made quick and easy in your slow cooker.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States