Colleen's Slow Cooker Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
Loved it. Bit spicy for daughter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
This was so delicious! My whole house smelled awesome all day and my husband literally licked his plate clean! Even my 2 year old daughter couldn't get enough. I did cut down on the cayenne because I have little ones, but this was excellent and we will definitely make this again! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barboursville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
This recipe was great after making a few major adjustments. (1) season the chicken and shrimp with salt before putting it in the pot. (2) Add four cloves of minced garlic. (3) Add salt to the recipe to make the flavors come out. (4) Double the chicken broth. (5) Cook in a pot, not a crock-pot, cooking the chicken first in 2 tablespoons of olive oil. Then put all other ingredients in, minus the shrimp and simmer for 20-30 minutes. Then, add in 3 cups of rice and the shrimp and cook for ten more minutes. Let sit for 5 minutes, and you have authentic jambalaya instead of a soupy mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
Serve over rice and I added more sausage. Not soupy at all so I don't know where that comes from. I added more broth because it was getting thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
This was delicious! I made the recipe exactly as is except I put in raw shrimp in the last hour. Turned out great and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Seriously amazing! I can't believe it doesn't call for salt, it is absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
I added uncooked shrimp during the last hour of cooking reducing the temp to warm. This recipe is awesome as written. For us it had the right amount of spice. If you think the sauce is too thin, then add a tad of cornstarch to thicken. Thanks Colleen :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Made this today for dinner exactly as directed except I couldn't find any andouille sausage so used hot italian. This completely fell apart in the pot and so I mostly had what looked like a ground meat soup with some chicken and overcooked shrimp. I even used uncooked frozen shrimp but still, the 7 - 8 hours on low is way too long for this recipe. All the meat was way overcooked. Still, it tasted really good served over rice in soup bowls and we will more than likely finish it off again later this week. It makes a lot. But next time I make this I'll only slow cook it on low for 4 hours at the most.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
This recipe was delicious! My husband, kids, and guests all loved it. It was extremely easy and seasoned well although my son added hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Love Judd

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Perfect - tried without any modifications and came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,420) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Colleen's Slow Cooker Jambalaya

Try this authentic taste of the Bayou--made quick and easy in your slow cooker.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States