Colleen's Slow Cooker Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
My first time making jambalaya and i think i nailed it! I couldn't find andouille sausage anywhere(!) so i used keilbasa. I could only find hot/sweet italian sausage or maple breakfast sausage. I felt neither of those could be the flavor i was looking for so i just went with keilbasa. Also, I felt the final product was too runny, so i took suggestions and made 4 servings of instant rice then added this the final half hour. I feel like the seasonings were perfect. The only personal problem i had was that i didnt buy a good quality shrimp. When it was frozen, i couldn't tell that it wasn't shelled, so i had to pick out the shrimp after trying it realizing the shell was still on. Epic fail :( oh well. better luck next time. Everything else was fab though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rochester, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
The only thing i added was garlic tobasco sauce. Very yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
Second time making this and we have enjoyed it. Salt to taste. Nice change up. Made our Cajun seasoning from this site and it tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BE-O-BE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Campbell, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
Loved it. Bit spicy for daughter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
This was so delicious! My whole house smelled awesome all day and my husband literally licked his plate clean! Even my 2 year old daughter couldn't get enough. I did cut down on the cayenne because I have little ones, but this was excellent and we will definitely make this again! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barboursville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
This recipe was great after making a few major adjustments. (1) season the chicken and shrimp with salt before putting it in the pot. (2) Add four cloves of minced garlic. (3) Add salt to the recipe to make the flavors come out. (4) Double the chicken broth. (5) Cook in a pot, not a crock-pot, cooking the chicken first in 2 tablespoons of olive oil. Then put all other ingredients in, minus the shrimp and simmer for 20-30 minutes. Then, add in 3 cups of rice and the shrimp and cook for ten more minutes. Let sit for 5 minutes, and you have authentic jambalaya instead of a soupy mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
Serve over rice and I added more sausage. Not soupy at all so I don't know where that comes from. I added more broth because it was getting thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
This was delicious! I made the recipe exactly as is except I put in raw shrimp in the last hour. Turned out great and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Seriously amazing! I can't believe it doesn't call for salt, it is absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
I added uncooked shrimp during the last hour of cooking reducing the temp to warm. This recipe is awesome as written. For us it had the right amount of spice. If you think the sauce is too thin, then add a tad of cornstarch to thicken. Thanks Colleen :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,413) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Colleen's Slow Cooker Jambalaya

Try this authentic taste of the Bayou--made quick and easy in your slow cooker.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States