Colleen's Slow Cooker Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Excellent! I tripled it and made it for our Christmas party, everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
I am having a Mardi Gras Party soon so I wanted to find a recipe for the slow cooker, much easier that way. I decided to try this ahead of time to see if it was any good. My husband and I loved it! I followed pretty much most of the recipe except I left out green pepper and used Zatarain's Creole seasoning, 2 1/2 tablespoons instead of the Cajun and cayenne pepper. It had just enough heat for me. I cooked it on high, added 2 cups of rice along with the shrimp after 3 1/2 hours, and let it simmer for another 25 minutes. It was perfect. Can't wait to see how it rates with the guests at our party. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria Hill Taylor

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
Made this for SuperBowl Sunday. Family liked it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
This is hands-down the easiest slow-cook recipe ever. I thought the flavor was spot on! Husband loved it! It is a little soupy however, but the rice takes care of that :-) Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
This was a really delicious, easy jambalaya. I've never made it before so I wasn't sure how it would come out. Only 2 things I might change: it was too soupy/runny for our taste so maybe decreasing the broth would help, and it needed rice. Next time I'll throw in some cooked rice near the end. Otherwise yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Came out great, added a can of tomato paste to make it a little thicker. Also left out some of the cayenne, perfect heat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
You forgot the rice!! I'm still giving it five stars because the flavor is the shiznit and it's easily adaptable as long as you have those spices. Just pour this bad boy over whatever rice. Healthy it up with some brown rice or quinoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I made it a bit more soupy by adding about 1 and 3/4 cups of chicken broth, and I added some heat with 2 habaneros and two yellow chiles, also included some ground smoked cumin in the spices. It came out really spicy, but thats the way i like it. I accidentally purchased Jumbo Shrimp that had the tails still on, next time i'll try to find smaller shrimp that are free of the tail.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Made a pot of this the other night and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Eudora, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Very good, made for the first time today. Very spicy, and when I say spicy I mean red hot spicy. I would tone down the cayenne pepper a bit and/or be careful what is in the Cajun spice. A lot of blends add cayenne. But overall very good, very easy, and I used turkey kielbasa so a bit more figure friendly. I might try a different sausage next time just to see.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilac0832

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marblehead, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 1,304) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Colleen's Slow Cooker Jambalaya

Try this authentic taste of the Bayou--made quick and easy in your slow cooker.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States