Colleen's Slow Cooker Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
This is my husband's and my FAVORITE meal. I put the tomatoes in the food processor, add 1/4 tsp salt, and cook in a pressure cooker. I cook it on 10 lbs pressure for 20 minutes without the shrimp. I start on high, wait for the pressure gauge to jiggle, turn down the temp, and cook for 20. I then release the pressure, add the shrimp (2 lbs), replace the lid, and cook another 5 minutes. We serve it with 10-minute white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
MY FAMILY WENT NUTS OVER THIS RECIPE....THEY LOVED IT. I had to make a few altercations because most of them don't eat pork (I am strictly a seafood eater no other meats....so I didn't get any of this....made a separate seafood only batch for myself). I used turkey and beef sausage for my families pot full. It was not hard to put any of it together I did have to go out and purchase a REAL slow cooker... lol mine was only a 2qt so besides that and a lot of chopping it was a snap. I didn't have time to do the eight hours so I put it on high and did the 4 hours adding the shrimp last (as suggested) it was a hot (not for taste but as in great) hit... Thanks for the different suggestions and Colleen thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I dont make alot of cajun food, but I do enjoy the spices in cajun/creole cooking. I made this recipe as instructed. It smells delicious while it was cooking. I took other reviewers suggestion to cook the rice in its original juice last 1/2 hour of cooking (so it isn't so runny). But I was just unimpressed with the flavors. I am not sure what spice overpowered the dish, but I just didn't like it. My husband ate it and felt the same way. Won't be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
This was sooooo good :) Will be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
This was fantastic! I followed the recipe exactly and agree that it is too runny...but the spices and taste were incredible. I cooked the rice separately and since I couldn't find Andouille sausage I used Hot Italian sausage. This had some kick but because I ate it so quickly I didn't get to see if it got spicier over time. Maybe next time. This one's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Like most things on this site, I find this recipe to be the perfect jumping off point for me. I make adjustments as I go, leave things out, put things out. It's a great starter recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by k.mckinley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rossville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Great Recipe! Just added 1.5 cups of uncooked rice when adding the shrimp and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tony Mastran

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Need more spices and maybe chicken needs to be fried a little with some spices before putting it in. The overall dish had kind of confusing taste, depending on which meat you pick to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
My husband doesn't like chunks of tomato, and neither of us like chunks of veggies but we loved this. I used things I had at home - link sausage, pre-cooked chicken I had in the freezer, celery, onion and carrots. It was fabulous over rice when we got home that night! With the ice storm hitting Texas today, we enjoyed the leftovers for lunch - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
This was seriously the best!! I made it for Monday night football with sweet cornbread muffins and only had enough for one person to have leftovers the next day. The only change i made was i used fresh prawns instead of frozen We will definitely make this again. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 1,338) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Colleen's Slow Cooker Jambalaya

Try this authentic taste of the Bayou--made quick and easy in your slow cooker.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States