Colleen's Slow Cooker Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Excellent, just the perfect amount of spice. May use spicy sausage next time, cause I like really spicy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
I know this isn't real jambalaya for all the reasons everyone wrote about. But it is incredibly good! I've made it for family and friends and everyone loves it. I serve it over rice. Yummy... Highly recommend!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
This tasted pretty good as is (I did omit the celery), but after some thought I realized what was missing: the roux! So in a separate pan I melted some butter and added flour and slowly heated until it turned a medium brown (about 20 min, while the rice cooked) and poured that into the mixture. It thickened up and darkened the sauce and added a richness to the flavor. I served it over rice and everyone had seconds and thirds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
DO NOT, I repeat, DO NOT add the rice into the jambalaya .... I would suggest cooking the rice on the side In a rice cooker And then combine the rice portion. I will attempt to make again, the flavor was great, I added chorizo into mine and doubled the chicken no shrimp was added (I didn't have)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
Wife and I tried this recipe and was sadly disappointed. The flavor was a single note and just wasn't worth eating. I think sauteing the vegetables first and using a wider variety of spices would help immensely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandon Stump

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
This was my first time making homemade jambalaya. It was very good. Not sure why, but the chicken came out a little tough. I like mine a little more spicy, so I recommend doubling the cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SirKing

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
It was delicious and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina B.
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
I really liked this recipe. It would be a fabulous winter dish. I had a hard time finding andouille sausage, so I used Trader Joe's andouille chicken sausage. It's pretty good and it saves some calories. I took another reviewer's advice and sauteed the shrimp briefly in olive oil and garlic before adding it to the slow cooker. I left out the celery and added some rice at the end that I cooked using the juices from the dish. Worked out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leawood, Kansas, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Flavor was excellent. I used cooked andouille because that's all I could find, and I did add it at the beginning like called for. It turned out great and didn't get dry like I feared (cooked 8 hours on low). I drained the tomatoes as other reviewers suggested and that left plenty of juice at the end. I added instant rice (about 6 servings) at the end as other reviewers suggested, and cooked on low for an hour because we weren't home. It was soggy and overcooked, so next time I think I'll try adding closer to serving time or not using it at all. My husband loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
I thought it was okay. I really wanted less spicy power and more spicy flavor. I would have preferred a thick sauce too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Agius

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 1,418) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Colleen's Slow Cooker Jambalaya

Try this authentic taste of the Bayou--made quick and easy in your slow cooker.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States