Colleen's Slow Cooker Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2015
I absolutely love jambalaya, it's one of my favorites things to eat in the winter time. The only change that I made was using brown rice instead of white, but the taste was still the same. I've made this dish twice now, the first time without red pepper flakes and the second with, and I definitely tasted the difference. It was a little bit hotter with the red pepper flakes, but I paired it with some cornbread and that took away the heat. This will definitely be a slow cooker dish I make for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Domonique Burke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2015
Less cayenne add garlic 3-4 cloves and a little more salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2015
First time I made this I thought it was awesome. Second time I added some okra and a little minced garlic. I think it was even better! Thanks Colleen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2015
I omitted the shrimp because I'm allergic, and added extra chicken and sausage. I also added a bag of kidney beans (I combined a couple of recipes), and extra creole seasoning. Left it in the crockpot for about 6 hours while I worked. I added 2 cups of white rice when I got home, mixed it into the Jambalaya. Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2015
Terrific! Easy to make, everyone in the family wanted to save this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2015
I have gotten a few recipes from here so far but this was was by far my favorite. Very easy to prepare with tons of flavor and the perfect kick given from the cajun seasoning. Will most certainly make again, no doubt about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2015
Wow. It's amazing. I made it pretty much as written besides draining the tomatoes (only a little ) And I used the creole seasoning from this site instead of
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2015
My husband and I enjoyed this. I mostly followed the recipe as is, but I only had a can of crushed tomatoes on hand instead of diced - no biggie, and I had a couple extra roma tomatoes kicking around so I chopped those up and threw them in as well. After a few hours of cooking, I tasted it and there was a harsh acidic flavor from the tomato, so I added some sugar, just as I would for most tomato based sauces (I didn't measure, but it was probably a couple tablespoons. I recommend adding a little bit of sugar at a time and tasting it as you go so you don't overdo it). Once I cut the acidity and added a couple dashes of salt I was happy with the flavor. I cooked some long grain white rice in the chicken broth I had leftover and served the jambalaya on top of it. It's pretty spicy, which we love, but if you don't like things too spicy, I would highly recommend cutting back to 1/4 or 1/2 tsp of cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2015
I ran the recipe just as Colleen suggested... fantastic! But I think I want to tinker with the "heat" a bit. But this is my recipe of choice to play with to make it my own... well... "ours"... thanks Colleen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2015
This has become a family favorite. Its super easy to make and wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,418) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Colleen's Slow Cooker Jambalaya

Try this authentic taste of the Bayou--made quick and easy in your slow cooker.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States