Colleen's Slow Cooker Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
Serve over rice and I added more sausage. Not soupy at all so I don't know where that comes from. I added more broth because it was getting thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
This was delicious! I made the recipe exactly as is except I put in raw shrimp in the last hour. Turned out great and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Seriously amazing! I can't believe it doesn't call for salt, it is absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
OK folks.. read all the reviews but felt to be fair I would make almost as written. My ONLY deviation was to add uncooked shrimp during the last hour of cooking reducing the temp to warm. This recipe is awesome as written. For us it had the right amount of spice. If you think the sauce is too thin, then add a tad of cornstarch to thicken. Thanks Colleen :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Made this today for dinner exactly as directed except I couldn't find any andouille sausage so used hot italian. This completely fell apart in the pot and so I mostly had what looked like a ground meat soup with some chicken and overcooked shrimp. I even used uncooked frozen shrimp but still, the 7 - 8 hours on low is way too long for this recipe. All the meat was way overcooked. Still, it tasted really good served over rice in soup bowls and we will more than likely finish it off again later this week. It makes a lot. But next time I make this I'll only slow cook it on low for 4 hours at the most.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
This recipe was delicious! My husband, kids, and guests all loved it. It was extremely easy and seasoned well although my son added hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Love Judd

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Perfect - tried without any modifications and came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Talk about home cooking! This is easy and very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dani Mcleod

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Seymour, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
Made the recipe as outlined substituting Smoked Ham Kielbasa as there was no Andouille sausage in town. Wife loved it, kids loved it, in laws loved it, dog loved it. I'm not a fan of spicy food, but this had just enough heat to make it good. Will be making this every couple weeks for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
This was my first recipe with my new slow cooker. I think that the recipe will be okay, but as others noted, one does not think of jambalaya as being a liquid that is poured, gumbo-style, over rice. I guesstimated that after cooking there are probably four cups of liquid (one cup broth, three cups tomatoes, plus whatever moisture came from the breakdown and release of moisture from meat and vegetables), so I added two cups jasmine rice, but it took forever to cook, even on high. Next time, I would use instant rice or simply ladle the finished mixture over cooked jasmine rice. Again, I perhaps screwed up the recipe, but the results are not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Sussman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,378) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Colleen's Slow Cooker Jambalaya

Try this authentic taste of the Bayou--made quick and easy in your slow cooker.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States