Colleen's Slow Cooker Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Made this exactly as written, and is was PERFECT. I stir in some cooked brown rice at the end, and this is always a big hit with our family, including my 2 and 4 year olds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Whitmore Lake, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This was amazing. I added the rice when it was served so it did not soak up alot of the liquid, so this was like a thicker soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
This was delicious. .of course I added my own touch with some help with other reviews...I only had one 14 oz can of diced tomatoes so I also used some cherry tomatos I had in the fridge I cut them in half..I added 2 tsps fresh minced garlic..no cayenne so I used 4 tablespoons tony catchers creole seasoning and sprinkled red pepper flakes...also used beef smoked sausage...and browned the sausage chicken onion pepper and celery in a pan before hand but only for a few mins..drained and added to crock pot..also I dont like thyme so I used sage....added can of tomato paste..and cooked rice in chicken broth seperatly but only half cooked the rice and added it when I added the shrimp and turnes it on high for the last hour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
WOW just..wow
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thecritic

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
This is my husband's and my FAVORITE meal. I put the tomatoes in the food processor, add 1/4 tsp salt, and cook in a pressure cooker. I cook it on 10 lbs pressure for 20 minutes without the shrimp. I start on high, wait for the pressure gauge to jiggle, turn down the temp, and cook for 20. I then release the pressure, add the shrimp (2 lbs), replace the lid, and cook another 5 minutes. We serve it with 10-minute white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
MY FAMILY WENT NUTS OVER THIS RECIPE....THEY LOVED IT. I had to make a few altercations because most of them don't eat pork (I am strictly a seafood eater no other meats....so I didn't get any of this....made a separate seafood only batch for myself). I used turkey and beef sausage for my families pot full. It was not hard to put any of it together I did have to go out and purchase a REAL slow cooker... lol mine was only a 2qt so besides that and a lot of chopping it was a snap. I didn't have time to do the eight hours so I put it on high and did the 4 hours adding the shrimp last (as suggested) it was a hot (not for taste but as in great) hit... Thanks for the different suggestions and Colleen thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I dont make alot of cajun food, but I do enjoy the spices in cajun/creole cooking. I made this recipe as instructed. It smells delicious while it was cooking. I took other reviewers suggestion to cook the rice in its original juice last 1/2 hour of cooking (so it isn't so runny). But I was just unimpressed with the flavors. I am not sure what spice overpowered the dish, but I just didn't like it. My husband ate it and felt the same way. Won't be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
This was sooooo good :) Will be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
This was fantastic! I followed the recipe exactly and agree that it is too runny...but the spices and taste were incredible. I cooked the rice separately and since I couldn't find Andouille sausage I used Hot Italian sausage. This had some kick but because I ate it so quickly I didn't get to see if it got spicier over time. Maybe next time. This one's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Like most things on this site, I find this recipe to be the perfect jumping off point for me. I make adjustments as I go, leave things out, put things out. It's a great starter recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by k.mckinley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rossville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,312) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Colleen's Slow Cooker Jambalaya

Try this authentic taste of the Bayou--made quick and easy in your slow cooker.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States