Colleen's Slow Cooker Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Talk about home cooking! This is easy and very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dani Mcleod

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Seymour, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
Made the recipe as outlined substituting Smoked Ham Kielbasa as there was no Andouille sausage in town. Wife loved it, kids loved it, in laws loved it, dog loved it. I'm not a fan of spicy food, but this had just enough heat to make it good. Will be making this every couple weeks for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
This was my first recipe with my new slow cooker. I think that the recipe will be okay, but as others noted, one does not think of jambalaya as being a liquid that is poured, gumbo-style, over rice. I guesstimated that after cooking there are probably four cups of liquid (one cup broth, three cups tomatoes, plus whatever moisture came from the breakdown and release of moisture from meat and vegetables), so I added two cups jasmine rice, but it took forever to cook, even on high. Next time, I would use instant rice or simply ladle the finished mixture over cooked jasmine rice. Again, I perhaps screwed up the recipe, but the results are not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Sussman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
This recipe was super easy to make a delicious! To be honest, I didn't use the seasoning like it was written though. What I did was I made my own cajun seasoning and just added that. I got the cajun seasoning from Emeril's recipe. I also added some red pepper flakes. I also used boneless skinless chicken thighs instead of chicken breast as it is a darker meat and adds a richer flavor, but it would taste great with chicken breast as well. I am shocked that some people complained this was too spicy....it's jambalaya...it's supposed to be spicy! If you want to cut down on the spice, use a milder sausage and less cayenne pepper. I didn't have an issue with it being too soupy. I did cook it in a 4 qt. crockpot. If you use a crockpot that's too big, I think that could cause it to bee too saucy. I also made my rice separate and found that it tasted even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
This was amazing! Will definately make again. Followed recipe. Dont know that i would change anything except doubling the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
The jambalaya was a huge success! I added 2 teaspoons instead of 1 teaspoon of Cayenne pepper. I also added a thinly sliced carrot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
It's tasty enough, but it's not true jambalaya. Jambalaya is basically a bunch of ingredients with a lot of flavors with seasoning and water brought to a boil. The rice is thrown into what is a soup and then cooked in an iron pot or dutch oven so that the rice soaks up the flavored water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joshua Fuller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kelly Irvin
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
My family loved this! I used Creole seasoning instead of the listed ones an I added minute brown rice now I added the shrimp and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Irvin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
The only thing I did differently was add 1 small can of tomato paste when there was about an hour left of cooking. It thickened it up perfectly! Such a fantastic recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Super duper. Made mine with the rice separate...hubby couldn't eat enough and raved about it. It feels great to have a successful meal and please the family, thanks poster!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,381) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Colleen's Slow Cooker Jambalaya

Try this authentic taste of the Bayou--made quick and easy in your slow cooker.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States