Colleen's Slow Cooker Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
I may have already reviewed this recipe but it has become a go-to in our house so I wanted to make sure I left a review. I am from Houston originally and therefore have had some great Jambalaya on trips to Louisiana and in restaurants in the area as Cajun cooking definitely has spread to east Texas. This is a VERY EASY recipe that is great for busy folks with kids as it is authentic in taste and takes so little time to prepare in the crockpot. Although the rice does not cook with it, the flavor is so rich because it cooks for so long that even after you pour it on regular rice, you still get a great flavor. I follow the recipe although I measure by sight but if you want to tone down the spiciness, just add less of the hot stuff! I think if you add all the liquids called for and maybe some extra chicken broth you could throw instant rice in there and it would cook up fine. I may try that myself and if it works, I will post another review. Just hate to waste expensive shrimp and ruin the recipe. May get brave enough one day! Thanks for the recipe! It is a family favorite as well as all guests who have tried it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baytown, Texas, USA
Living In: Fallbrook, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
Great flavor but much too soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bella Devine

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Johnstown, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Just made this in the crock pot today - delicious! A tad more liquid than I typically like but I'd just drain off a little of the diced tomato liquid. I might ramp up the Canjun and Cayenne a bit more - dish had heat but could use more. Easy prep so I highly recommend this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Fraser

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Park Ridge, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
I liked it a lot. I didn't have any Cajun seasoning so I used chili powder and it worked fine. I live on my own so made the full recipe and froze individual portions to be thawed and eaten later. This is a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
This one's a keeper! It was so simple and tasted soooooo good! Perfect amount of spices. Great ingredients. I used a really good ring bologna instead of andouille and am glad or it may have been too spicy for my family. It still had a good amount of heat. I also added 2 t. sugar--I always do when cooking with tomatoes because my grandma told me to. It was pretty soupy, but I had about 2 c. of red beans and rice and added it to the crock pot at the end. Heated through. Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
Delicious!!! I was surprised at the authentic taste with out a roux. I did make a few changes but nothing that would change the integrity of the recipe. I added minced garlic and 2 bay leaves since all good Cajun foods have both. I didn't have any celery so I left it out and really didn't miss it. I will be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emkat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parchman, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Moorhead, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
I just got done eating this and it tasted nothing like the real jambalaya. I followed the recipe to the T and I felt like it was missing a 'WOW' taste. Also, this was more like a soup. The chicken was dry and the 'soup' was bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OolyndeoO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
The recipe was absolutely delicious! I made it for a potluck dinner and it was a big hit! I added about 3 cloves of garlic and used canned tomoatoes with green peppers and onions. I also used 4Tbsp of Emeril's Cajun Seasoning which includes all of the seasonings called for in the recipe. Everything turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
I used this recipe for a company Mardi Gras lunch. It was a hit! It was so easy to make and tasted delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
used exact above recipe, cooked about 3.5 hr on high, added rice about 45 min before done, shrimp 30 min before finished. would use 1-1.5 cup of rice. rice gets rid of most liquid for right consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 1,304) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Colleen's Slow Cooker Jambalaya

Try this authentic taste of the Bayou--made quick and easy in your slow cooker.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States