Colleen's Slow Cooker Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
I felt like the oregano overpowered this recipe, I only put in half of the amount and its still really strong. I think next time I'll put in just a pinch if any at all. Other than that it was super easy and had great flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Dill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
Delicious! I found it a bit thin, so I added file powder at the end, but the flavor was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christie Robertson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
OMG! amazing, while helping with hurricane Sandy's displaced people, our camp cooks prepared Jambalaya, it was my first time ever eating it, this recipe is so close to the flavors. I added extra hot sauce. after six hours of slow cooking transferred all ingredients, minus two cups of liquid, to my electric skillet containing white cooked rice and 1 lb. cooked and peeled shrimp. as the rice thickened the dish I added the remaining liquid as need. I would make this dish again, and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
I'm sorry, I'm easygoing, and I only like to post good reviews, but I have to say this recipe was a big let-down. I followed it exactly and set the slow cooker to 4 hours on high. It was soup. I had to serve it with a slotted spoon :( That's not what I'm looking for in a jambalaya. I think I should be looking for a recipe that incorporates a roux. I love sauce, and this was just watery. The flavour was okay, but again, I was even disappointed considering how much seasoning went into it. Could barely detect the heat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tabitha Church

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
I tried it and loved it. There was a lot of juice so I cooked the rice using it and it was very flavorful. Definitely recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
I've made this many times and change it up just a little each time. Like in reviews, I use a frozen bag of peppers and onions (my favorite are fire roasted) and add some chopped garlic. I use whatever diced tomatoes are in my pantry and I par-thaw the chicken, which makes it super easy to cut up. I use chicken andouille sausage, add the frozen shrimp according to the recipe and add the exact spices recommended. This is tried and true, ALWAYS comes out fantastic. I do not cook the rice in the slow cooker, I use frozen brown rice and spoon the jambalaya over the top of a layer of rice. I have never found this soupy or dry! One of the best recipes I have ever used from this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Wow, this was so bad. I followed the recipe and it turned out really spicy, which is fine for me, but other than that, there was no flavor. My chicken tasted like newspaper too. What an expensive waste! Never again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shawna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
Fantastic flavor however I prefer this without the shrimp, but my mom really likes it with the shrimp. So I just scoop mine out before adding the shrimp:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
I loved the idea of making this in the slow cooker, but we didn't love the result. Even though this recipe has the same ingredients as the jambalaya I usually make, somehow it didn't have the same flavor. I'll go back to my other recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
My family loves this recipe and asks me to make it a lot! Since they do not like tomatoes I use tomato sauce instead. (don't ask me, I don't get it either but it works!) I love the idea of serving it over red beans and rice instead of just rice... I will try that tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINGERMAX

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Noble, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 1,352) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Colleen's Slow Cooker Jambalaya

Try this authentic taste of the Bayou--made quick and easy in your slow cooker.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States