Colleen's Slow Cooker Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Omgosh love it! I did randomly sub chicken sausage in and add a few extra spices but i made it for some friends and it was GONE! Everybody raved for days about it! The man says its gonna be a regular now. Fairly healthy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
Left out the shrimp because hubby doesn't like. It is very spicy although I'll say that I didn't measure- just estimated the spices and I did not have Cajun seasoning but looked up a recipe for that and improvised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
SO GOOD, but I made some changes: I don't eat chicken so I added an extra cup of broth to acct for the loss of chicken juices. I doubled the amount of shrimp and sausage. And I don't eat sausage so I used Gimme Lean vegan tofu sausage. AMAZING. With 3 hrs to go on low, I added brown rice. After it was done officially cooking, I left it on keep warm for a few extra hours when I went to run errands. And when I came back, the rice had absorbed all of the liquid. AND IT WAS DELICIOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
I've lived in "Cajunville" for years and this is very close to a recipe that I've also made for years. You don't cook the rice together with it, as someone said earlier, AND it's supposed to be spicy. You serve it over rice, instead. I don't use celery. Instead of broth I use a cup or so of condensed French onion soup, it gives it a rich flavor. I don't use Cayenne pepper but use pepper sauce. Authentic Jambalaya should have Tabasco sauce or Louisiana hot sauce (but admittedly I sometimes cheat and use 4 tsp of Frank's Red Hot Sauce simply because I love its flavor); Louisiana hot sauce is more mild than Tabasco's and Frank's. Also, you can throw in a packet of onion soup mix, if you want to stick with regular broth and fire-roasted diced tomatoes adds great flavor. If you can get it, instead of plain 'ol Andouille, get Conecuh sausage. It's what the locals use and is to die for. You can buy it online too. Warning though: once you go Conecuh, there will be no turning back... I guarantee it! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagnoliaSouth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
I am a seasoned cook, and i am sorry to say that my family did not care for this. To be fair, I haven't had a lot of Cajun food; but usually I can count on an Allrecipes 5-star review to be really good, if not great. Not this time. I don't mind spicy, but this was weird spicy. Just not a good combination of flavors. My husband is a good sport & says he'll take it for lunch, but I don't know if I have the heart to make him eat it! I really wish I hadn't wasted all the chicken, shrimp, & sausage on this dish. I could have made something soooo much better. Like I said, I am a pretty good cook, and it's really not often that I make something bad. So this was a disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jamiemommie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
I had to 'tweak' this recipe but turned out great. Used a 410g can of diced tomatoes & 2/3 cup of tomato paste. Omitted the shrimp & used chopped ham instead. Cooked rice separately then added to slow cooker when everything else was done & set on low with lid off until the right consistency. Enough for two meals for two people. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
Too spicy. Boyfriend and roommate really liked though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
Very good. I'd def make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
I ended up only using one 14oz can of diced tomatos and added a can of condensed tomato soup. It tastes even better the next day. I served over jasmine rice and black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
I loved this recipe. I made this for dinner and had a lot of leftovers which was nice. I will admit it was rather spicy so next time I might use a little less of the spicier seasonings. If you have a smaller crockpot I would recommend mixing all the ingredients in a bowl before putting it in the crockpot. Unfortunately I made quite the mess trying the mix everything together after putting all the ingredients in. Also this went really well with some bread and would probably be good with some rice too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 1,311) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Colleen's Slow Cooker Jambalaya

Try this authentic taste of the Bayou--made quick and easy in your slow cooker.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States