Colleen's Slow Cooker Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
Amazing! I made a couple alterations and use the onion/garlic/celery diced tomatoes (with juice) and then the last 20-25 minutes of cooking I throw in a cup of uncooked rice. Comes out perfect! Also, I tried the andouille sausage the first time I made this and hated it, I just thought it was disgusting, so I use smoked summer sausage instead. Personal preference, but wow it's amazing in there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Tasty! This is an easy, straight forward jambalaya. I opted for small, pre-cooked and tail-less shrimp, and next time I would opt for tailed, larger shrimp for better texture. Also, I would skip the soft, fresh sausages from your grocer and go with a harder skinned, easy to slice sausage. I cooked this for 4 hours on high rather than 7-8 hours on low and it tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Absolutely delicious!! I would just add some nice crusty bread to mop up the lovely sauce. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Abbie
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Thank u all for the wonderful advice on adding the rice later so not so soupy. Colleen, your recipe is wonderful. Thank you. Everybody's input helped to make it a success, i read every review and appreciated it. Thanks guys!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kailua, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
I love this recipe. I cook it about once a month. The only thing I changed, is I added fresh spices like fresh oregano and thyme. I love it. I sometimes add okra even though I know that's for gumbo, but I like it. I cook the rice separately and ladle the jambalaya over it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shanna Mitchell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kevin
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
I used the garlic idea. Used a garlic press and put in 4 cloves. I love garlic and adding fresh garlic was a great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
This was super-easy and really great. Thanks for an easy meal from the Big Easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
I made this for my husband and I last night to celebrate Fat Tuesday. My family and I enjoy Cajun food so this was a real treat! I followed the recipe to a tee - didn't make any changes and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I am allergic to fowl and therefore substituted a smoked venison-pork sausage for the chicken. I also substituted beef broth for the chicken broth and added more that the recipe calls for. I used Old Bay seasoning and the result was amazing. Just the right amount of spice to dance on the back of your tongue. I served it over rice and wow...excellent meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 1,406) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Colleen's Slow Cooker Jambalaya

Try this authentic taste of the Bayou--made quick and easy in your slow cooker.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States