Colleen's Slow Cooker Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Really great recipe, everything works just great, the only thing I will change next time is to cut up the chicken and sausage into smaller chunks. It had great flavor and was tasty over some rice. I served it the night it was ready, and had a lot of leftovers so I ended up splitting it up in 2 quart size tupperwares and putting them in the freezer. I then took them out the next day and popped them out kind of like popping ice cubes out of the tray. I then threw them into vacuum sealer bags and sealed them up and labeled them and back to the freezer they went. I just pulled one out after a month and set it in the fridge in the morning to defrost while I was at work. Popped the bag into a pot of boiling water for 15 min while I was making some rice, and bam, instant no cook meal, tasted as good as the day I made it. I highly recommend this recipe. One comment though, is don't mix in the rice ahead of time. I ate some left overs from the first day this way and it got a tad bland and the rice was mushy from absorbing all the liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
My whole family enjoyed this dish, including my kids. My husband said it was better than his favorite creole restaurant's version. I know I will make this for my family often. Is delicious!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Fantastic recipe! Blew away my friend who claims to be a Gumbo connoisseur!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Oh my goodness! This Jambalaya recipe is AWESOME!!! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I have made this numerous times. I have followed the recipe exactly. This is what I have discovered. Don't use canned tomatoes. I buy 2 average size tomatoes and puree them. You Can taste the difference. For mild heat (husband loved this but I will not make it this way again)1 tsp Creole seasoning, 1/4 tsp cyan pepper. ( good flavor, no heat )Medium: ( my fav) 1 tbls Creole seasoning, 1/2 tsp cayan pepper. hope this helps. This is a fun and tasty recipe. I also puree onion and green pepper, My husband loves the taste but will not eat it if he sees veggies. I have tried adding rice. It was awesome the first night, by the next day it was mush. This recipe is better w/ rice on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marlee Chapman VesTal
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
Fantastic! Unfortunately we had to cut out the shrimp due to family member's allergies, but when it's a hit with Dad it's a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
One tsp of cayan pepper was too much for me, but it was very good. We added quinoa too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
I like the ease and versatility of this recipe. The first time I made this I fould it a bit too hot. So the next time I cut back the cayenne by half. I didn't have Cajun seasoning so I made one off this site so that may have added extra heat. On the advice of others I added cooked rice to the slowcooker this time and it was okay. The rice absorbed quite a bit of the liquid this way so if you want to keep some of that yummy sauce don't do it that way. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Swift Current, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
This was not only really good, but easy to make as well. I am not usually a big fan of Cajun or spicy food, but this was more flavorful than "hot". I brought it to a potluck at work and had lots of requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I like this recipe. I pre-measure the dry ingredients and bag it to take it camping so it makes it easier. Great meal to make and be able to go out and have some fun. Glad I found this. My husband like it when this comes camping with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 1,418) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Colleen's Slow Cooker Jambalaya

Try this authentic taste of the Bayou--made quick and easy in your slow cooker.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States