Colleen's Slow Cooker Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2015
My husband and I enjoyed this. I mostly followed the recipe as is, but I only had a can of crushed tomatoes on hand instead of diced - no biggie, and I had a couple extra roma tomatoes kicking around so I chopped those up and threw them in as well. After a few hours of cooking, I tasted it and there was a harsh acidic flavor from the tomato, so I added some sugar, just as I would for most tomato based sauces (I didn't measure, but it was probably a couple tablespoons. I recommend adding a little bit of sugar at a time and tasting it as you go so you don't overdo it). Once I cut the acidity and added a couple dashes of salt I was happy with the flavor. I cooked some long grain white rice in the chicken broth I had leftover and served the jambalaya on top of it. It's pretty spicy, which we love, but if you don't like things too spicy, I would highly recommend cutting back to 1/4 or 1/2 tsp of cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2015
I ran the recipe just as Colleen suggested... fantastic! But I think I want to tinker with the "heat" a bit. But this is my recipe of choice to play with to make it my own... well... "ours"... thanks Colleen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2015
This has become a family favorite. Its super easy to make and wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2015
flavors were okay, but it reminded me much more of gumbo than jambalaya. it really didn't do it for us. we made microwave burritos after one bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2015
Awesome Possum! Saving this one and serving it to family and friends next time they come over! Thanks Colleen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Canadian Chick

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2015
The most expensive dish I've cooked in a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingsville, Texas, USA
Living In: Snyder, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2015
Don't cook rice with the rest. Just make 4 cups rice separately, then mix after cooking main dish and let sit for a while and keep warm. Added a bay leaf for 1st hour, then removed. This Cajun loves this authentic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2015
Great recipe! It is watery but I served it with a large amount of rice and it was fine. Incredible if served with sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2015
Perfect and easy, just the way it is. Everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahrose8484

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2015
This recipe IS the bomb! Made it for dinner last night and had some left overs. Was going to make something else tonight & favorite son (only son) came in and wanted to know why we weren't having left over jambalaya! Readjusted things and had the left overs. Let me tell you, next day is even better with this dish. Giving the meat and vegetables time to absorb all the spices really increased the flavor. Next time making it a day early. Thank you for submitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,411) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Colleen's Slow Cooker Jambalaya

Try this authentic taste of the Bayou--made quick and easy in your slow cooker.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States