Colleen's Slow Cooker Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Christina B.
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
I really liked this recipe. It would be a fabulous winter dish. I had a hard time finding andouille sausage, so I used Trader Joe's andouille chicken sausage. It's pretty good and it saves some calories. I took another reviewer's advice and sauteed the shrimp briefly in olive oil and garlic before adding it to the slow cooker. I left out the celery and added some rice at the end that I cooked using the juices from the dish. Worked out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leawood, Kansas, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Flavor was excellent. I used cooked andouille because that's all I could find, and I did add it at the beginning like called for. It turned out great and didn't get dry like I feared (cooked 8 hours on low). I drained the tomatoes as other reviewers suggested and that left plenty of juice at the end. I added instant rice (about 6 servings) at the end as other reviewers suggested, and cooked on low for an hour because we weren't home. It was soggy and overcooked, so next time I think I'll try adding closer to serving time or not using it at all. My husband loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
I thought it was okay. I really wanted less spicy power and more spicy flavor. I would have preferred a thick sauce too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Agius

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Really great recipe, everything works just great, the only thing I will change next time is to cut up the chicken and sausage into smaller chunks. It had great flavor and was tasty over some rice. I served it the night it was ready, and had a lot of leftovers so I ended up splitting it up in 2 quart size tupperwares and putting them in the freezer. I then took them out the next day and popped them out kind of like popping ice cubes out of the tray. I then threw them into vacuum sealer bags and sealed them up and labeled them and back to the freezer they went. I just pulled one out after a month and set it in the fridge in the morning to defrost while I was at work. Popped the bag into a pot of boiling water for 15 min while I was making some rice, and bam, instant no cook meal, tasted as good as the day I made it. I highly recommend this recipe. One comment though, is don't mix in the rice ahead of time. I ate some left overs from the first day this way and it got a tad bland and the rice was mushy from absorbing all the liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
My whole family enjoyed this dish, including my kids. My husband said it was better than his favorite creole restaurant's version. I know I will make this for my family often. Is delicious!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Fantastic recipe! Blew away my friend who claims to be a Gumbo connoisseur!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Oh my goodness! This Jambalaya recipe is AWESOME!!! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Amazing!! My first taste of Jambalaya (Hubby too)It is exactly what I thought it would be. Followed the recipe as is(pureed vegi so hubby wouldn't see). made rice on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marlee Chapman VesTal
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
Fantastic! Unfortunately we had to cut out the shrimp due to family member's allergies, but when it's a hit with Dad it's a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
One tsp of cayan pepper was too much for me, but it was very good. We added quinoa too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,311) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Colleen's Slow Cooker Jambalaya

Try this authentic taste of the Bayou--made quick and easy in your slow cooker.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States