Colleen's Potato Crescent Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
I Loved the texture and softness of the rolls.I did some changes though.I used 1/2 cup oats and 3 cups whole wheat flour and then continued with the all purpose flour as needed.I also reduced the sugar to 1/3 cup and used 1/3 cup olive oil and 1/3 cup butter flavoured shortening. I had instant potato flakes so used 1 cup of it instead.All in all it was really good and my kids loved it.I still have half of the dough left and I'm planning to make cinnamon rolls out of it.I'm sure it will turn out great.Thanx a ton for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
These rolls are so fluffy and just WONDERFUL! Like other reviewers, I did not let them raise for 8 hours. I treated this dough like any other dough letting rise 'til doubled, then shaping into crescents and raising again. In all it took about 3 hours until the entire batch of dough was cooked. Great Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rexburg, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by footballgrl16
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
This was a good roll recipe. Don't be fooled by the name, these don't taste a thing like crescent rolls. They do however, make a nice roll. So if you want a good roll, this will do, but it doesn't have the taste or texture of a crescent. They were very pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Made dough like the recipe said early kept very well in the fridge. Took out to go along with Easter dinner, didn't have time to make crescent rolls so I rolled out the dough and used a small round glass dipped in flour to cut out and made dinner rolls. The family loved them with honey butter or alone. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
My family loved these. The only thing I did differently was to omit the sugar (we don't like sweet rolls). For some reason, I totally missed the part in the directions that said to refrigerate the dough, so I unintentionally skipped that part. Results were still great though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
Very tasty, but needs to be watched closely to get the desired outcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
so fantastic. i made for the fam for easter. the only thing i will do differently is lower the temp. the first batch was a little too done at 15 minutes so i turned down to 375 and the second cookie sheet was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ange82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Theses were great! I have never made bread before, baking with yeast was a foreign world for me. But the recipe was easy. I made them for Easter and everyone loved them! I will definetly be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TeresaA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loudon, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
I admit I screwed these up (I used the1/4 cup of butter in the batter instead of the 2/3 cups of shortening), but they were still great. I'm sure they'll be just as good when I make the correctly. :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Audrey J. Ross

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clarks Summit, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baricat
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Dinner roll nirvana. Light, tender, buttery, moist, yeasty little mouthfuls of deliciousness. The one and only recommendation I would make is to cut the sugar if you're looking for a dinner roll and not a sweet roll. I used 6 Tb, which gave a subtle hint of sweetness to the flavor, but stopped short of defining it as more appropriate for a sweet breakfast roll. Easiest way to cut? Use a pizza cutter to cut your rolled circle into quarters, then divide those quarters in half to make eighths, then subcut those in half to get 16. All cuts need to intersect at one point in the center of the circle. After cutting, spread with the butter (I don't melt - just use softened butter. Melting is an unnecessary extra step and one more item to wash) then roll up each wedge as described in the directions. Be sure to wait sufficient time after shaping the refrigerated dough into individual rolls for a complete rise. For me, that took about an hour and 20 minutes (your timing could be more because of kitchen temp. I'm in south FL, so it's always pretty warm.) This step yields the maximum lightness of texture, just as rushing things will contribute to a heaviness in your finished product. I've made these countless times now. Perfect every time. Superb heirloom recipe. Thank you for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional


Displaying results 81-90 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States