Colleen's Potato Crescent Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
This is delicious. The first time I made this, I used 2 parts whole wheat flour and 1 part all purpose flour to make it a little healthier. It was good, but after following the directions and using all purpose for all the flour...there was a big difference. After the cold rise it was double the size. I suppose that whole wheat doesn't work the same? I learned my lesson. These are so light and fluffy and soft! Yum! Came out beautiful. Next time I want to try and roll it with some dark chocolate and also try some others with cinnamon, raisins and pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Good crescent rolls..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cara.davis

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA
Photo by babs2574
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
I have never made crescent rolls before and looked at this recipe and thought I would rather go to the bakery than spend 8 hrs making these. They were great! I made only half a batch to just try them first. I didn't have shortening, so I used butter instead thinking it would be okay. Well with it resting in the fridge, the butter got hard. I rolled it out anyway and it worked out nicely. I am wondering if these would freeze at all either in the rolled dough form, or made completely so I could double the batch, freeze and pull out several to cook at a time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babs2574

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Two Harbors, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Anoka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Good :) Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Partyof5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
This is one of the first bread recipes I've actually gotten to work. Didn't change a thing. Completely easy and completely amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
such a soft bread! it's absolutely delicious. i would divide the circle into 8 sections instead of 16, so the crescent form is more evident. can cut down on sugar if doing a more savouring bread (i used garlic butter). delicious and super easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
This recipe is so good with a classic homemade bread taste! It was so yummy and super easy to make. It worked really well for my case where my parents came down for the weekend. I prepared the dough the night before and baked it the morning of their arrival and were completely ready for lunch. I made mine into sandwich rolls, so my first batch didn't turn out exactly perfect...definitely eatable, but not perfect. I would suggest lowering the temperature and increasing cook time if you would like to make larger rolls. Still WONDERFUL recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
So so so awesome! Made according to recipe and had great results. Was a bit surprised by the cold rise and have no idea if it is necessary vs. regular rise, but I would make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Mielke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
I don't know what went wrong but these came out doughy. Everyone was shocked at the instructions to put the dough in the fridge and all and they think that may have been the issue. Other than that, the flavor was awesome and I think I may try them again just leaving out that step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
These were one of the best recipes ever! I too halved the recipe and used a bread machine. Worked great. Will be making these for Easter dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Putnam Valley, New York, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States