Colleen's Potato Crescent Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2003
Folks, you can add this wonderful recipe to your breakmaker repertoire! After mashing and measuring the potatoes, I cut all the ingredients in half, put everything in the breadmaker and processed on the "dough" cycle. I did use one full tablespoon of yeast as per my machine manufacturer's recommendations, and I exchanged whole wheat flour for half of the flour, and the rolls were soft and delicious. I've made these twice, and I find that I need to cover them loosely with foil before I put them in the oven, and remove the foil about a minute before they're done so they brown nicely. Otherwise they were darkening too fast. My family loves these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
208 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
I just sampled one of these from the oven; yes I burned my tongue but it was so worth it. I've been baking rolls for 30 years and these rolls top any I've ever baked. The texture is melt in your mouth and the taste is old fashioned and delicious. Except for supplementing the potatoes with potato flakes, I followed the recipe exactly. I made a dozen big fluffy crescents and then a dozen & a half cinnamon rolls from the rest of the dough, using a brown sugar, cinnamon, and pecan filling and topping them with a powdered sugar glaze flavored with maple. These are a perfect 10!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2001
This is a TREMENDOUS bread dough recipie! I didn't have baking potatoes on hand, so I made a cup of instant potatoes, and it was just as wonderful! I even used this as a basic bread recipie instead of making rolls, and it was great. I didn't let it rise in the fridge as specified, I let it rise in a warm place until it doubled--I was too impatient for it to rise overnight or for days! :) It is nice to know you can make it ahead, though. It is very kid-friendly--my kids had fun rolling up the crescent shapes, and they loved the soft rolls after they were cooked. Thanks, Colleen, for a wonderful recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I made these for Thanksgiving and the result was exactly what I was looking for, a light, fluffy, rich tasting roll. I recommend baking at 375. I scaled the recipe in half so I could do it in my bread machine. I used 1 mashed yukon gold potato, butter flavored shortening (I use butter with a good result as well) and added 2 Tbsp. dry milk powder. Even though I scaled the recipe in half I used an entire packet of yeast. I added the ingredients according to the instructions for my bread machine and ran it on the dough cycle. When it was done I sprayed a 9 x 13 pan with Pam, shaped the dough into balls and put them 4 across in the pan. Covered with plastic wrap and stored in my refrigerator overnight. On Thanksgiving I took the pan out of the refrigerator about 3 hours before I was ready to bake them and put them on my counter covered with a kitchen towel to let them come to room temperature and rise up (they will need at least 3 hours to do this). I brushed the tops with butter once while cooking and again right after removing from the oven. Amazing result! I will make this frequently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
Made these rolls for Thanksgiving 2004. Fabulous. I made the basic dough using my the dough hook on my Kitchen Aid mixer, instead of kneading for 8 minutes & it worked fine. Two potatoes were too many. Recipe should read "enough cooked potato to make one cup." A rolling pin isn't necessary--just pat the dough out with flour-coated fingers. The dough is too soft to cut with a knife--do this instead & it'll work great: take a pizza cutter & roll it in flour, then cut the dough into 16 pieces. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2003
The instructions did not say to cream the shortening and sugar and when I mixed it with everything else, it was really lumpy looking. I just knew I had messed up the whole recipe.I decided to use my mixer for a few minutes on low to blend the liquids and potato together. That worked out real well. I wanted a dinner roll, instead of a sweet type roll, so I reduced the sugar to 1/3 cup. It was definetely the hit of our Thanksgiving dinner this year. These were absolutely the best rolls I have ever made! Incredibly awesome! The recipe is one that I will use from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
Very tasty and high risers! The dough is very easy to handle. I would suggest cutting out some of the sugar if you intend to serve them as dinner rolls, but keep it as is if you want to make them into a sweet roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
This recipe turned out great for me and it is so easy to tweak. I had to watch them in the oven closely because they can brown too much on the bottom if you are not watching. I made dinner rolls and cinnamon buns(just coated with melted butter and cinnamon and sugar on one side before rolling)from the same batch. It is a really big help around the holidays when, like me, you have several places to take food too; you need variety. The recipe is simple and quite versatile. You can add minced onion, garlic, or herbs to change things up. I served the regular rolls with honey, herb, and orange-cranberry butter... but who is to say that you can't add these ingredients to the batter? I look forward to trying a variety of additives to this 5 star winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M.Blake

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wellsville, New York, USA
Living In: Corning, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2001
I made these rolls for Thanksgiving, and even stodgy old relatives raved! I didn't have any shortening, so I used all butter in the recipe, but they were still perfect. My little tip is to use a pizza roller to cut out the crescents...made it that much easier. Amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baricat
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Dinner roll nirvana. Light, tender, buttery, moist, yeasty little mouthfuls of deliciousness. The one and only recommendation I would make is to cut the sugar if you're looking for a dinner roll and not a sweet roll. I used 6 Tb, which gave a subtle hint of sweetness to the flavor, but stopped short of defining it as more appropriate for a sweet breakfast roll. Easiest way to cut? Use a pizza cutter to cut your rolled circle into quarters, then divide those quarters in half to make eighths, then subcut those in half to get 16. All cuts need to intersect at one point in the center of the circle. After cutting, spread with the butter (I don't melt - just use softened butter. Melting is an unnecessary extra step and one more item to wash) then roll up each wedge as described in the directions. Be sure to wait sufficient time after shaping the refrigerated dough into individual rolls for a complete rise. For me, that took about an hour and 20 minutes (your timing could be more because of kitchen temp. I'm in south FL, so it's always pretty warm.) This step yields the maximum lightness of texture, just as rushing things will contribute to a heaviness in your finished product. I've made these countless times now. Perfect every time. Superb heirloom recipe. Thank you for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional


Displaying results 1-10 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States