Colleen's Potato Crescent Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
These are easy to make and absolutely wonderful. This will be my go-to roll recipe from now on. My brother said they are better than my grandma's rolls and that is extremely high praise. I found it easier to divide the dough into 4 rounds, roll out a 12 inch round, and then cut into 8 pieces. I really like being able to make the dough so far ahead of time. It made cooking Christmas dinner so much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gate City, Virginia, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
I made these rolls for Christmas dinner and I can say is "WOW"! They are so light and fluffy and delicious! I don't know how it happened, but I ended up with 32 rolls good sized rolls, instead of 16, but boy I am glad I had so many; I've never seen people eat so much bread! It was the hit of our Christmas meal. I will make these again and again. I think this will be my "go to" recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
Had to pass out this recipe. They were DELICIOUS! Made them at Thanksgiving and people were asking to take the leftovers home with them. People have never asked to take the extra rolls home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Napa, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I made these for Thanksgiving dinner, and received several compliments and requests for the recipe. One relative said it was the best dinner roll she had ever tasted. They were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
These rolls are to die for. I have never been able to make bread well (even other recipes from this site) but these turned out like little pieces of heaven. I used instant potatoes and also didn't leave them overnight, just let them rise for a few hours before continuing with the recipe. I lowered the oven temp. and found that they actually finished at only 375 in just 12 or so minutes (maybe because I used dark-coated pans). I usually shy away from breads because they take so much work, but I'm already looking forward to making these again this weekend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
I think for the amount of work involved, that these are just okay. I'll stick to my favorite roll recipe on here (Buttery Rolls.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
I could not get these rolls to rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beatrix

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
I used some left over garlic flavored mashed potatoes; they turned out wonderful!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy Primes Rayburn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prairieville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Perkinston, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
Other than taking a long time to let rise, this recipe was easy and tasty. Defiantly not a quick bread, but my family loved them! The ones I made with cinnamon and sugar, my daughter suggested putting the melted butter and filling on the inside before rolling up, like a cinnamon roll, so that it is through out the crescent. You know, it's going to be good when you can't keep the kids out of the dough while it's rising. The recipe makes a lot so it's great for a large gathering. I loved the ideal in one of the reviews to use a pizza cutter to cut the wedges, it worked wonderfully. I used leftover mashed, red potatoes with the skins on. They worked out great and it gave them a little something else to chew on. We would defiantly make them again but maybe save it for special occasions due to the lengthy process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KisstheKooktracy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madrid, New York, USA
Living In: Theresa, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
This is the best roll recipe I've ever made. I too make it in my bread machine on the dough cycle. To do this you should half the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Buns

The perfect taste, texture, and appearance for a hamburger bun.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States