Colleen's Potato Crescent Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
These are absolutely amazing. I've read several variations on the recipe, but I don't change anything. I slather on a ton of butter after rolling out, and I slather on more before I bake them. Sorry you just can't have enough butter. The butter chills on the cold dough, but doesn't detract at all. Watch them when you bake them so you don't over cook them. I never have leftovers, even when I triple the recipe! Fantastic with (more) butter and jam/jelly when hot, and fantastic when chilled. They keep really well in Tupperware in the fridge for days. Update: Now my inlaws come to my house and ask for these rolls specifically. Family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Herriman, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I found my Thanksgiving rolls! This are light, airy and very tasty. I followed the recipe to a T, using 2/3 C sugar, which I thought would be too sweet. No worries....they were perfect. I made 24 dinner rolls and 6 sandwich rolls. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by TheCambodianCook
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
These rolls were amazing, very delicious. I didn't form them into crescent shapes because it was so sticky to work with, I just roll them into balls and rise and bake it as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCambodianCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
Haven't even cooked this entirely yet; and I didn't allow it to sit for the 8 hours as mentioned; only did 2 hours in the freezer; but the dough is beautiful to work with; really easy; not sticky in the least; really seems foolproof so long as your yeast is working properly. And I rolled it out to about a 16-18 inch circle; just size wise to roll the crescents; seemed better; still cut out the 16 wedges as directed (just means for the 16-18 inch you get a few more rolls/rotations in each roll than you for the the 12); and the rose absolutely stunningly; are huge; and they've only just popper in the oven!! Done half with jsut the butter and half with garlic butter; and they smell and look devine!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
I personally didnt care for these AT ALL but i am giving it 5 stars because its the only way i've gotten my two boys to eat potatoes and my husband didnt complain about it lol. it just didnt have the right flavor or consistancy of what i was looking for. I will keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
I also used instant mashed potatoes and covered the rolls with foil until the last 5 minutes of baking. These were excellent and easy. I also had to add 3/4 cup more flour because my dough was too wet. Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
I used instant mashed potatoes and they worked out wonderful!!! My family devoured them!! They come out a little bit sweet so just keep that in mind if you're looking for a dinner roll. They'll still be delicious!!! Brush them with a little butter before baking and it'll give them a nice brown color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyndie Robinson Johnson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Rexburg, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
awesome! Used instant mashed potatoes, butter instead of shortening and halved the recipe- came out awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kirkwood, Missouri, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
Perhaps I shouldn't have been expecting these to taste like the crescents from the market. They were too sweet for my taste. Maybe no sugar or very little would suit my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
I LOVE love this recipe!! Wonderful and worth the wait! Putting foil over the rolls for most of the baking time saved from over browning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dreia801

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Buns

The perfect taste, texture, and appearance for a hamburger bun.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States