Collard-Kielbasa Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Delicious soup! I only used 1 pkg of turkey kielbasa. Also, I needed to use up a 10-oz. bag of fresh spinach, so I used that instead of collard greens. Perfect! There was plenty for hubby and I to have seconds and enough leftover for another meal. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
I made this and its a wonderful soup recipe... I used Conecuh sausage but, almost any sausage will do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
I'm eating a bowl right now. Yummy! I used home made chicken broth instead of the water, and hot (spicy) smoked sausage. I used fresh collards, removing the stems first, and added the collards 15 minutes before adding the potatoes, then cooked another 20-25 minutes before adding the remaining ingredients. I also used 4 cloves of garlic, because this really does make a big pot of stew, and the garlic won't be overpowering. I'll be freezing individual bowls of this, and I look forward to having more another day when I'm too busy to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Amazing - totally different way to enjoy Collards! Only change I made was the using chicken broth for water (and more of it) and the meat - since we had leftover ham along with a few potatoes I needed to use and a bunch of fresh greens. (oops - my greens were fresh too) I made it all together in a pot on the stove, then put the whole thing in the crockpot on low for a great "eat as you pass by" pre-Christmas-shopping meal." One last thing - DON'T forget the green pepper portion of the dish - I almost did, it was the only thing I had to out for on the list, but it is essential to the total taste of the soup. Again - just amazing - and so nice to have a second way to serve greens that totally switches them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
I made this for dinner tonight. I used fresh collard greens.I left out the bacon.It was great1 My husband and I both enjoyed it. I made a half recipe. It will be enough for two meals.I added an extra cup or so of chicken broth halfway through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I am trying to figure out how the heck anyone made this soup with only 1 quart of water! I ended up using about 5 times that- even after the collards cooked down the soup resembeled just a big pot of moist veggies. I ended up having to transfer the whole thing to a much larger pot just to accomodate the extra water I had to add just to make this look like soup. Since the water diluted all the flavor from the kielbasa ( I also had cut that down to one package like a previous review recommended),I had to throw in a bunch of beef bouillon cubes to give the broth more flavor. Also, I would recommend just cooking the bacon separately, removing the bacon from the pan then sauteeing the onion, garlic and green pepper in the bacon grease. I wasn't able to get the bacon crisp cooking it with the onion and pepper, which added a lot of extra moisture. All in all I like the ingredients and concept, but the recipe definately needs tweeking to get a decent bowl of soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
The proportions of kielbasa are too high and out "12" servings was enough for 4, but w/a ton of extra meat. I'd half the meat suggestions next time. Also, I combined the ingredients more quickly than they said to save time and it was still a wonderful, yummy soup - and I'm glad I didn't waste the extra 45 mins. cooking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
What a great recipe! It is always hard to find recipes for extra collard greens, but this one is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Made the crockpot version and loved it. Extremely tasty when following the recipe exactly. It's a little greasy because of the sausage, but the taste is worth the splurge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
I made this almost exactly as written, leaving out only the bacon (but I did use bacon fat to cook the onions, etc.). This soup was really delicious but it cooked FAR too long and the potatoes and beans were mushy. I will make this again cooking it probably half the time. Other than that, this was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Lund Hazher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States