Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2005
NO GARLIC? NO ONIONS? NO WAY! You can't possibly be southern! P.S. Save the sugar for the yams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2001
Substitute the salt pork for smoked ham hocks and you've got the traditional southern recipe. Wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
This is the true way of eating Collard greens in the South. Instead of salted pork I used hamhocks and I added a vidalia onion. This was my first time making collards greens. I am very please with this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
Pretty good recipe. I used Kale instead of Collards. It was very tasty. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
Just like my grandma used to make...if you are scared of the salt pork/extra fat, try smoked turkey leg...tastes just like ham..and the greens are still flavorful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
I made these greens for Thanksgiving dinner, and no one could believe it was the first time I ever cooked them! They tasted just like they did when I was a kid growing up in Georgia. I didn't add the vinegar to the pot, though; just left it to the side for personal preference. Thank you so much! People beleive that I'm a Southern girl now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
These are great. I have alwasy added a little sweet to my greens(not too much) it takes the bitterness away. I am from Alabama and this is the way it has always been for me. I use honey, or syrup, or brown sugar and it all seems to work. Even the people who say they don't like collards eat these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cleo Brinson
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
"Great Greens....Added a touch of red pepper flakes & onion. Mmmmm."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cleo Brinson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2004
I made this for sunday dinner to try something new and it did not work..Sugar in greens is never a good idea. I had to remake the recipe and used turkey wings, onion and garlic. And they had more of the southern flavor I am used to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
I had never made collard greens before. I served these New Year's Day and they were a raving success. There was not one green left. I would not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States