Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
Just like my grandma used to make...if you are scared of the salt pork/extra fat, try smoked turkey leg...tastes just like ham..and the greens are still flavorful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
This is good. Add a cup or so of some (cheap) white wine instead of the sugar. It takes any bitterness out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geecheeboy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Pleasant, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
I had never made collard greens before. I served these New Year's Day and they were a raving success. There was not one green left. I would not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
These are great. I have alwasy added a little sweet to my greens(not too much) it takes the bitterness away. I am from Alabama and this is the way it has always been for me. I use honey, or syrup, or brown sugar and it all seems to work. Even the people who say they don't like collards eat these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2005
NO GARLIC? NO ONIONS? NO WAY! You can't possibly be southern! P.S. Save the sugar for the yams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
I made these greens for Thanksgiving dinner, and no one could believe it was the first time I ever cooked them! They tasted just like they did when I was a kid growing up in Georgia. I didn't add the vinegar to the pot, though; just left it to the side for personal preference. Thank you so much! People beleive that I'm a Southern girl now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2004
I made this for sunday dinner to try something new and it did not work..Sugar in greens is never a good idea. I had to remake the recipe and used turkey wings, onion and garlic. And they had more of the southern flavor I am used to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2004
this was really good, but i wish i hadn't added any salt to the pot (1/2t). the pork adds plenty. i was throwing in potatoes in the end trying to get some of the salt out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
Pretty good recipe. I used Kale instead of Collards. It was very tasty. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2001
Substitute the salt pork for smoked ham hocks and you've got the traditional southern recipe. Wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States