Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
My family loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ann marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Great recipe! I used jowl bacon instead though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
I love the bitterness in my Collard Greens..that's why I love them that has had frost on them..turnip greens, too. I'm from the South and Ham Hocks or Bacon ends are the best to season Collards or Turnip Greens with. I've never added sugar to mine. Wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
We have been using this recipe for some time now. Always receive praises when I make them for our pig roast and New Years day celebration. Strayed once, but came right back. Followed the recipe as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krisi Bode Symons

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I used ham hock; this recipe is easy & great tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cleo Brinson
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
"Great Greens....Added a touch of red pepper flakes & onion. Mmmmm."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cleo Brinson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
This is why I go to Allrecipes for foods I know nothing about. 1. Kale and Collards are nothing alike and are cooked differently. 2. Sugar is always added to collards, it compliments the vinegar. 3. Ham Hocks or Neck Bones. Not Salt Pork. Turkey if you're not a pork eater.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
We loved these! I used Portuguese sausage instead of salt pork, and added some sauteed onion and garlic too. It was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
Very good! I used smoked turkey necks and added a shot of hot sauce. I didn't even need the sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2008
This is the true way of eating Collard greens in the South. Instead of salted pork I used hamhocks and I added a vidalia onion. This was my first time making collards greens. I am very please with this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States