Collard Greens with White Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2012
You need to wash the collard greens really good or you can use canned or frozen. I added Jalapeño peepers too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
Very yummy !!! I agree, probably not as much water as this called for, but other than that, delicious !! Thank you so much for sharing this...we are looking for more vegetables to add to our diet, and collard greens are supposed to be a wonderful source of vitamins !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Eureka, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
If you're a greens lover, this is fantastic! One side note, i found that i only needed to add about 1/2 c of water, maybe because the amt of greens i used was a bit less?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I had leftover collard greens from Thanksgiving that were waaaayyy to spicy and I wanted a way to use them; not throw them away and this recipe was my answer. I used no-salt canned tomatoes and white beans and added onions since mine did not have many. I omitted the rest of the seasonings since my collards had plenty of flavoring. I then added broth and water and turned this into a soup. This is definitely a recipe that can be used with leftovers. Great idea! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
It was surprisingly good. I didn't have the vegan bouillon so I used a Knorr bouillon. It was perfect. Doubling the recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
insaneley easey and delish!!! i mean who would think you could actually like collard greens or white beans for that matter! to wash the collards though i highly reccomend filling a sink with water and letting em soak for an hour to make sure all the grit is removed. you'll be amazed by how much sand are trapped in these leaves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Wotton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southington, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Hamden, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
I didn't find this recipe fast as suggested. It took over 30 minutes of cooking plus preparation for a side dish. I followed the recipe exactly except I used an equal amount of frozen collards. For some reason after all of the cooking time, I felt the collards still had quite a bit of a bite to them. I guess, I will only use fresh from now on. I never tried the frozen before. After it was done, it badly needed salt of some kind. I had some Adobo seasoning on my stove so I sprinkled some on. It wasn't bad, but not a repeat a recipe. Just missing the texture and flavor for me. However, a nutritionist would give this 2 thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
This was a tasty and healthy side for pork chops. A few minor changes: I used a 1lb. bag of chopped fresh collards and used a 1/2 c. of chicken broth to replace the water and bouillon cube. Ohtherwise, followed it to a T! Flavorful, healthy, and easy makes this a recipe for the file. Everyone loved this! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
I loved this! Like others, I cut the water (I probably only used about 1/4 cup). I also skipped the bouillon cube and used two fresh tomatoes instead of a can of diced tomatoes. With a dash of salt, a generous grinding of black pepper, and the 1 tsp of sugar -- this was a fantastic side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
This was a good way to eat collards. I sauteed my onions and garlic in olive oil rather than water, and I only used 1/2 a cup of water after that. It was plenty. I also left out the bouillon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Beans and Greens

See how to make a rustic Italian-style beans and greens recipe with escarole.

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States