Collard Greens with White Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by adelleattached
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
This was excellent! I do agree with adding less water. I used canned collard greens and added real bacon bits. Our family is far from being vegan. I would recommend this recipe. I was concerned about the 3 tablespoons of garlic and all the onion. It was really strong cooking it in the beginning before adding the rest of the ingredients. It was a perfect blend of flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Millersburg, Ohio, USA
Living In: Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
This was a good way to eat collards. I sauteed my onions and garlic in olive oil rather than water, and I only used 1/2 a cup of water after that. It was plenty. I also left out the bouillon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
this was really yummy! Reminded me of something my grandma used to make when I was a little girl. Instead of using all the water I just use one can that I got from the canned tomatoes and it turned out wonderful thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Charlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prineville, Oregon, USA
Living In: Fruitland, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. TeeJay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
Wonderful! How am I, 30-years a vegetarian, just now discovering the flavor and texture and affordability and how to prepare collard greens? Don't be afraid, just try this recipe. The ingedients combine for a unique, memorable meal. Yes, I parsed the liquid until greens were cooked al dente; also added some chopped jalapenos and used high-protein cannelloni beans. A great entree and definitely a take-to dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
This was so incredibly delicious!! After I ate this, I felt so like I had so much more energy to think and do everything I needed to. I made it for my husband when he was not feeling well and we both felt so much better, more energized, and happier afterwards. I think it was a good, healthy meal that gave our bodies much more energy to heal! I'd definitely recommend it. I would say it needed more salt(try sea salt! It's great.), and I also added McCormick's Garlic Salt to it after, which really added to the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
I didn't find this recipe fast as suggested. It took over 30 minutes of cooking plus preparation for a side dish. I followed the recipe exactly except I used an equal amount of frozen collards. For some reason after all of the cooking time, I felt the collards still had quite a bit of a bite to them. I guess, I will only use fresh from now on. I never tried the frozen before. After it was done, it badly needed salt of some kind. I had some Adobo seasoning on my stove so I sprinkled some on. It wasn't bad, but not a repeat a recipe. Just missing the texture and flavor for me. However, a nutritionist would give this 2 thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
It was surprisingly good. I didn't have the vegan bouillon so I used a Knorr bouillon. It was perfect. Doubling the recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
This was a tasty and healthy side for pork chops. A few minor changes: I used a 1lb. bag of chopped fresh collards and used a 1/2 c. of chicken broth to replace the water and bouillon cube. Ohtherwise, followed it to a T! Flavorful, healthy, and easy makes this a recipe for the file. Everyone loved this! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
This is such an easy and delicious recipe. I followed the recipe with two minor exceptions: I used chicken bouillon because that is what I had on hand and also reduced the amount of water (used about 3/4 cup). The recipe was fantastic and the leftovers were even great the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Utica Greens and Beans

Tasty beans and greens with escarole, pancetta, and a bread crumb topping.

How to Make Beans and Greens

See how to make a rustic Italian-style beans and greens recipe with escarole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States