Collard Greens with White Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2012
You need to wash the collard greens really good or you can use canned or frozen. I added Jalapeño peepers too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
Very yummy !!! I agree, probably not as much water as this called for, but other than that, delicious !! Thank you so much for sharing this...we are looking for more vegetables to add to our diet, and collard greens are supposed to be a wonderful source of vitamins !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Eureka, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
If you're a greens lover, this is fantastic! One side note, i found that i only needed to add about 1/2 c of water, maybe because the amt of greens i used was a bit less?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I had leftover collard greens from Thanksgiving that were waaaayyy to spicy and I wanted a way to use them; not throw them away and this recipe was my answer. I used no-salt canned tomatoes and white beans and added onions since mine did not have many. I omitted the rest of the seasonings since my collards had plenty of flavoring. I then added broth and water and turned this into a soup. This is definitely a recipe that can be used with leftovers. Great idea! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
insaneley easey and delish!!! i mean who would think you could actually like collard greens or white beans for that matter! to wash the collards though i highly reccomend filling a sink with water and letting em soak for an hour to make sure all the grit is removed. you'll be amazed by how much sand are trapped in these leaves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Wotton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southington, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Hamden, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
It was surprisingly good. I didn't have the vegan bouillon so I used a Knorr bouillon. It was perfect. Doubling the recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
This was a tasty and healthy side for pork chops. A few minor changes: I used a 1lb. bag of chopped fresh collards and used a 1/2 c. of chicken broth to replace the water and bouillon cube. Ohtherwise, followed it to a T! Flavorful, healthy, and easy makes this a recipe for the file. Everyone loved this! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by adelleattached
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
This was excellent! I do agree with adding less water. I used canned collard greens and added real bacon bits. Our family is far from being vegan. I would recommend this recipe. I was concerned about the 3 tablespoons of garlic and all the onion. It was really strong cooking it in the beginning before adding the rest of the ingredients. It was a perfect blend of flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Millersburg, Ohio, USA
Living In: Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
This was a good way to eat collards. I sauteed my onions and garlic in olive oil rather than water, and I only used 1/2 a cup of water after that. It was plenty. I also left out the bouillon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
I didn't find this recipe fast as suggested. It took over 30 minutes of cooking plus preparation for a side dish. I followed the recipe exactly except I used an equal amount of frozen collards. For some reason after all of the cooking time, I felt the collards still had quite a bit of a bite to them. I guess, I will only use fresh from now on. I never tried the frozen before. After it was done, it badly needed salt of some kind. I had some Adobo seasoning on my stove so I sprinkled some on. It wasn't bad, but not a repeat a recipe. Just missing the texture and flavor for me. However, a nutritionist would give this 2 thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

How to Make Beans and Greens

See how to make a rustic Italian-style beans and greens recipe with escarole.

Utica Greens and Beans

Tasty beans and greens with escarole, pancetta, and a bread crumb topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States