Collard Greens and Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I really liked this but I added sweet potato pieces which I think made the dish. I also didn't cook it as long, and I thought it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Post Falls, Idaho, USA
Photo by LA ESPOSA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
This was delicious! I had to use a yellow onion instead of a red one, since it was all I had. I also used Great Northern Beans instead of cannellini. Will need to tone down the spice next time for my kids (maybe only 1/4 tsp. red pepper for them).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
Excellent! Works with any kind of greens. I used Kale and only needed to simmer about 30 min. to wilt the leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
My new FAVORITE greens recipe!!!! Thank you!!! Oh, I used chicken broth instead of water and 4 slices of bacon rather than 3. So yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I used 4 slices of bacon and only used half the crushed red pepper. Healthy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
This is one of, if not the, best collard green dishes I have ever had. My boyfriend said the same thing. I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
I grew up in the South and this recipe brings me back to my childhood. It was Great! My husband, the Yankee, loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
Made them tonight with a few changes and we really liked them. Must say collards aren't our favorite, but hubby said this recipe is definitely a keeper. My changes--an extra slice of bacon, white onion instead of red (didn't have any red), 1 bunch of collards (didn't measure it in cups), chicken broth instead of water, no red pepper flakes, and pintos instead of cannellini beans. Some of the changes had more effect than others, I'm sure. I used what I had. Oh, and one other thing--while the greens were simmering, I tossed some raw sweet italian sausages in to cook on top. Served with very basic biscuits--the biscuits were yummy with the pot liquor. Anyway, given that we're not working with our favorite ingredient, and the recipe was still yummy even with all the things I had to do to fit what I had, I rate this five stars. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
This came out great. My hubby was hesitant about the beans, but ended up loving it. GREAT recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
I love this recipe! I'm from the South and I'm a little picky about my collard greens, and this recipe is wonderful! There are so many tasty flavors involved. I sometimes add chicken sausage to this when it's done and eat it as a whole meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Shenzhen, Guangdong Province, China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Beans and Greens

See how to make a rustic Italian-style beans and greens recipe with escarole.

Chef John's Pork and Beans and Greens

See how to make an Italian variation on beans and greens.

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States