Collard Greens and Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Excellent! I've never had Southern greens despite having lived in the south for a while. I used a large bunch of yellow stemmed collard greens and a handful of purple frilly looking mustard greens. (They looked so good at the Farmer's Market!) I followed all the directions except adding the liquid and the vinegar. Oh and the beans. When the greens etc were fully wilted it looked and tasted so good that I couldn't see cooking for another 2 hours in liquid. I did add the brown sugar and then served it with balsamic vinegar for sprinkling on top. It was so good I forgot to try the sour cream! I will, some day, try them the traditional way using this recipe, but it was great the way it was! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gluten Free Jeannie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Photo by LA ESPOSA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
This was delicious! I had to use a yellow onion instead of a red one, since it was all I had. I also used Great Northern Beans instead of cannellini. Will need to tone down the spice next time for my kids (maybe only 1/4 tsp. red pepper for them).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
A good solid recipe. I think I will try using lemon instead of apple vinegar next time as for me it was a bit strong. Also, I'll make sure to use beans that don't taste too "tough". Not the recipe's fault, just my can of beans. The flavor was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
this is very good the only change I made was instead of adding plain water, I boiled some smoked pork neck bones until the meat fell off the bone and used the broth and meat to give it a wonderful rich hearty flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
This is delicious! I added some chicken bouillon and doubled the apple vinegar which brought it up to 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dresher, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
I am not a fan of collard greens but had bought some for a recipe. I found this and will have to say it was fantastic. I substituted red onion for sweet onion and chicken stock for the water. Rave reviews and I will definately make again. The original recipe that I used for this, (from cuisine magazine) was horrible. Thanks for sharing Melanie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tejay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cypress, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
So, I only loosely followed this recipe, but my easier version was delicious. I fried 3 slices of bacon, then added about half an onion and couple cloves of garlic, then the bacon again and about a cup (ish - 4 or 5 big leaves) of collard greens. Then I threw in a dash of white vinegar, maybe 1.5 tbspns of brown sguar, and a couple sprinkles of red pepper flakes. I covered it with water and let it cook uncovered on medium low for maybe 20 minutes. It was SO DELICIOUS. Bacon grease and brown sugar = hard to go wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bedford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
I love this recipe! I'm from the South and I'm a little picky about my collard greens, and this recipe is wonderful! There are so many tasty flavors involved. I sometimes add chicken sausage to this when it's done and eat it as a whole meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Shenzhen, Guangdong Province, China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
This came out great. My hubby was hesitant about the beans, but ended up loving it. GREAT recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
Made them tonight with a few changes and we really liked them. Must say collards aren't our favorite, but hubby said this recipe is definitely a keeper. My changes--an extra slice of bacon, white onion instead of red (didn't have any red), 1 bunch of collards (didn't measure it in cups), chicken broth instead of water, no red pepper flakes, and pintos instead of cannellini beans. Some of the changes had more effect than others, I'm sure. I used what I had. Oh, and one other thing--while the greens were simmering, I tossed some raw sweet italian sausages in to cook on top. Served with very basic biscuits--the biscuits were yummy with the pot liquor. Anyway, given that we're not working with our favorite ingredient, and the recipe was still yummy even with all the things I had to do to fit what I had, I rate this five stars. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Beans and Greens

See how to make a rustic Italian-style beans and greens recipe with escarole.

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Utica Greens and Beans

Tasty beans and greens with escarole, pancetta, and a bread crumb topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States