Collard Greens and Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
A good solid recipe. I think I will try using lemon instead of apple vinegar next time as for me it was a bit strong. Also, I'll make sure to use beans that don't taste too "tough". Not the recipe's fault, just my can of beans. The flavor was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
this is very good the only change I made was instead of adding plain water, I boiled some smoked pork neck bones until the meat fell off the bone and used the broth and meat to give it a wonderful rich hearty flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
This is delicious! I added some chicken bouillon and doubled the apple vinegar which brought it up to 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dresher, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
I am not a fan of collard greens but had bought some for a recipe. I found this and will have to say it was fantastic. I substituted red onion for sweet onion and chicken stock for the water. Rave reviews and I will definately make again. The original recipe that I used for this, (from cuisine magazine) was horrible. Thanks for sharing Melanie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tejay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cypress, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
So, I only loosely followed this recipe, but my easier version was delicious. I fried 3 slices of bacon, then added about half an onion and couple cloves of garlic, then the bacon again and about a cup (ish - 4 or 5 big leaves) of collard greens. Then I threw in a dash of white vinegar, maybe 1.5 tbspns of brown sguar, and a couple sprinkles of red pepper flakes. I covered it with water and let it cook uncovered on medium low for maybe 20 minutes. It was SO DELICIOUS. Bacon grease and brown sugar = hard to go wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bedford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
I love this recipe! I'm from the South and I'm a little picky about my collard greens, and this recipe is wonderful! There are so many tasty flavors involved. I sometimes add chicken sausage to this when it's done and eat it as a whole meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Shenzhen, Guangdong Province, China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
This came out great. My hubby was hesitant about the beans, but ended up loving it. GREAT recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
Made them tonight with a few changes and we really liked them. Must say collards aren't our favorite, but hubby said this recipe is definitely a keeper. My changes--an extra slice of bacon, white onion instead of red (didn't have any red), 1 bunch of collards (didn't measure it in cups), chicken broth instead of water, no red pepper flakes, and pintos instead of cannellini beans. Some of the changes had more effect than others, I'm sure. I used what I had. Oh, and one other thing--while the greens were simmering, I tossed some raw sweet italian sausages in to cook on top. Served with very basic biscuits--the biscuits were yummy with the pot liquor. Anyway, given that we're not working with our favorite ingredient, and the recipe was still yummy even with all the things I had to do to fit what I had, I rate this five stars. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
I grew up in the South and this recipe brings me back to my childhood. It was Great! My husband, the Yankee, loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
This is one of, if not the, best collard green dishes I have ever had. My boyfriend said the same thing. I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Beans and Greens

See how to make a rustic Italian-style beans and greens recipe with escarole.

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Utica Greens and Beans

Tasty beans and greens with escarole, pancetta, and a bread crumb topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States