Collard Greens and Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
This is delish. I used chickpeas since that is all I have. I did not use the bacon and sub it with 1 tablespoon of olive oil instead. Very good and very different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
OMG!!!!! they are that good.wouldnt change anything and i didnt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by garyjerome

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
Really fast and easy. I will use a pork hock or some piece of pork in addition to the bacon plus add some tomatoes and a green pepper for more taste and color the next time I make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Good grief, that's good. I used slightly more bacon and vinegar than the recipe calls for, and I subbed chicken broth for the water. I also cooked the collards for about 2 1/2 hours. WOW.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSERS11581

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
YUMMY, YUMMY! Made this for the first time 2 weeks ago and had to have again. Family and friends couldn't get enough. The only change I made was I used Chicken Broth (low sodium) instead of water. This is definitely a 5 STAR!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gilbertsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
My husband often sees Collard or Mustard greens on cooking shows. Since we both love cooked spinach and swiss chard, we have been curious to try collard greens. Unfortunately in Montana, I never saw fresh collard greens until today. I couldn't wait to get home and try this dish. We absolutely love this dish. The only thing I changed from this recipe was to use chicken broth instead of water, after reading other reviews. We will be having this dish often and will try with other greens when we can find them. My husband has already requested them for supper later this week and he put collared greens on the shopping list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by koolperp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
This was excellent. I didn't have the bacon or the beans, but we had leftover Easter ham and I just sauteed that up in a little olive oil, then followed the rest of the recipe. yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pasadena, Texas, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
I followed the recipe and I wouldn't change a thing. I love it much more than my extended family's version. Excellent and my husband couldn't get enough of this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
The best Melanie.Thank you for this recipe. A meal in and of itself. xo Angie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Pierce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Better than expected! I added an extra can of beans and some chopped ham to make it a meal. It did turn out really salty, so I would recommend not adding any salt until you can taste it at the end (I added about 1/4 tsp during cooking). If you can find low-sodium bacon, go with that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Beans and Greens

See how to make a rustic Italian-style beans and greens recipe with escarole.

Utica Greens and Beans

Tasty beans and greens with escarole, pancetta, and a bread crumb topping.

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States