Collard Greens and Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
skip the beans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
This was my first time with collards (or any time of greens!), and I liked it. I'm not a vegetarian, but I hate bacon, so I used vegetable oil to saute in and bullion in the water to replace the salt. Probably a heresy to anyone who actually knows southern cooking, but I liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Crestline, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
These are by far the best collard greens I've ever eaten. Recently I had a hankering for collard greens and went down to the Whole Foods deli. Theirs were disgusting. I had to throw them out. Bad collard greens exist out there. But these blow me away every time I make them. I got my picky family turned on to them, and my new housemate, says to me, "Those are collard greens? How do you get them to smell so good?" Yes, they are that good. Kind of like a cross of collards with baked beans. I LOVE this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
This is a meal all by itself. Wow, I'm glad I didn't throw that chicken in the oven to have with this. This is so filling and delicious, It was not necessary. I followed the recipe using chicken broth for the water, and dried great northern beans instead of canned (of coarse I soaked and cooked them first) and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUFIGIRL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
the first time i made this i followed the recipe exactly and it was ok. it was my first time with collard greens and i wasn't sure what to expect. the next time i made it i used chicken stock instead of water and after i cooked the bacon i left it out until the end to sprinkle over the finished collard greens. i like the texture of bacon to be nice and crispy, it seemed soggy to me when i did it following the recipe. my boyfriend and i enjoyed it both times, but the second time was much better for us. i served it over brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
This is delish. I used chickpeas since that is all I have. I did not use the bacon and sub it with 1 tablespoon of olive oil instead. Very good and very different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
OMG!!!!! they are that good.wouldnt change anything and i didnt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by garyjerome

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
Really fast and easy. I will use a pork hock or some piece of pork in addition to the bacon plus add some tomatoes and a green pepper for more taste and color the next time I make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Good grief, that's good. I used slightly more bacon and vinegar than the recipe calls for, and I subbed chicken broth for the water. I also cooked the collards for about 2 1/2 hours. WOW.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSERS11581

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
YUMMY, YUMMY! Made this for the first time 2 weeks ago and had to have again. Family and friends couldn't get enough. The only change I made was I used Chicken Broth (low sodium) instead of water. This is definitely a 5 STAR!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gilbertsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Beans and Greens

See how to make a rustic Italian-style beans and greens recipe with escarole.

Chef John's Pork and Beans and Greens

See how to make an Italian variation on beans and greens.

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States