Collard Greens and Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Magnificent recipie. Love the creaminess of the beans. So easy and so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barneybbarbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
This was awesome. I actually made this vegetarian by skipping the bacon completely. I ended up doubling the water and the amount of cider vinegar in order to cover my greens. I didn't have any red pepper flakes, so I used a teaspoon of cajun seasoning instead. I simmered it for about an hour. The flavor was amazing even without the bacon! No leftovers at all...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEVEGGIEONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale Heights, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
My husband was so bummed there wasn't more of this. I used more bacon (at least six rashers) regular onion too since we didn't have red, and chicken stock, and we only simmered about 45 minutes to an hour. Next time I'll make two or three bunches of collards and triple everything else. Really good light main meal with the extra luxury of bacon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
I made this tonight and got an "A+" from my 6-year-old. My husband said, "I was expecting it to be great, and it was even better than I was expecting!" I loved it, too. I made it with a few changes: 1) already-cooked bacon leftover from breakfast; fortunately, I had saved some of the bacon fat so I could saute the onions in it 2) I used collard greens and kale (fresh from our garden :) 3) I used a can of black beans, since I didn't have any cannellini and didn't have time to cook my dried kidney beans. The black beans still had a great flavor with this combination. Yummy! My biggest problem: not enough for leftovers! Next time I will make a double batch. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
skip the beans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Burt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
This was my first time with collards (or any time of greens!), and I liked it. I'm not a vegetarian, but I hate bacon, so I used vegetable oil to saute in and bullion in the water to replace the salt. Probably a heresy to anyone who actually knows southern cooking, but I liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Ellen Pedroza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Crestline, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
These are by far the best collard greens I've ever eaten. Recently I had a hankering for collard greens and went down to the Whole Foods deli. Theirs were disgusting. I had to throw them out. Bad collard greens exist out there. But these blow me away every time I make them. I got my picky family turned on to them, and my new housemate, says to me, "Those are collard greens? How do you get them to smell so good?" Yes, they are that good. Kind of like a cross of collards with baked beans. I LOVE this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
This is a meal all by itself. Wow, I'm glad I didn't throw that chicken in the oven to have with this. This is so filling and delicious, It was not necessary. I followed the recipe using chicken broth for the water, and dried great northern beans instead of canned (of coarse I soaked and cooked them first) and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosemary Felle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
the first time i made this i followed the recipe exactly and it was ok. it was my first time with collard greens and i wasn't sure what to expect. the next time i made it i used chicken stock instead of water and after i cooked the bacon i left it out until the end to sprinkle over the finished collard greens. i like the texture of bacon to be nice and crispy, it seemed soggy to me when i did it following the recipe. my boyfriend and i enjoyed it both times, but the second time was much better for us. i served it over brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
This is delish. I used chickpeas since that is all I have. I did not use the bacon and sub it with 1 tablespoon of olive oil instead. Very good and very different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Beans and Greens

See how to make a rustic Italian-style beans and greens recipe with escarole.

Utica Greens and Beans

Tasty beans and greens with escarole, pancetta, and a bread crumb topping.

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States