Collard Greens and Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2010
Made them tonight with a few changes and we really liked them. Must say collards aren't our favorite, but hubby said this recipe is definitely a keeper. My changes--an extra slice of bacon, white onion instead of red (didn't have any red), 1 bunch of collards (didn't measure it in cups), chicken broth instead of water, no red pepper flakes, and pintos instead of cannellini beans. Some of the changes had more effect than others, I'm sure. I used what I had. Oh, and one other thing--while the greens were simmering, I tossed some raw sweet italian sausages in to cook on top. Served with very basic biscuits--the biscuits were yummy with the pot liquor. Anyway, given that we're not working with our favorite ingredient, and the recipe was still yummy even with all the things I had to do to fit what I had, I rate this five stars. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I really liked this but I added sweet potato pieces which I think made the dish. I also didn't cook it as long, and I thought it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Post Falls, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
I love this recipe! I'm from the South and I'm a little picky about my collard greens, and this recipe is wonderful! There are so many tasty flavors involved. I sometimes add chicken sausage to this when it's done and eat it as a whole meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Shenzhen, Guangdong Province, China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
the first time i made this i followed the recipe exactly and it was ok. it was my first time with collard greens and i wasn't sure what to expect. the next time i made it i used chicken stock instead of water and after i cooked the bacon i left it out until the end to sprinkle over the finished collard greens. i like the texture of bacon to be nice and crispy, it seemed soggy to me when i did it following the recipe. my boyfriend and i enjoyed it both times, but the second time was much better for us. i served it over brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
I am not a fan of collard greens but had bought some for a recipe. I found this and will have to say it was fantastic. I substituted red onion for sweet onion and chicken stock for the water. Rave reviews and I will definately make again. The original recipe that I used for this, (from cuisine magazine) was horrible. Thanks for sharing Melanie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tejay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cypress, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
A good solid recipe. I think I will try using lemon instead of apple vinegar next time as for me it was a bit strong. Also, I'll make sure to use beans that don't taste too "tough". Not the recipe's fault, just my can of beans. The flavor was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
this is very good the only change I made was instead of adding plain water, I boiled some smoked pork neck bones until the meat fell off the bone and used the broth and meat to give it a wonderful rich hearty flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
This is one of, if not the, best collard green dishes I have ever had. My boyfriend said the same thing. I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
Excellent! Works with any kind of greens. I used Kale and only needed to simmer about 30 min. to wilt the leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
My new FAVORITE greens recipe!!!! Thank you!!! Oh, I used chicken broth instead of water and 4 slices of bacon rather than 3. So yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Beans and Greens

See how to make a rustic Italian-style beans and greens recipe with escarole.

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Utica Greens and Beans

Tasty beans and greens with escarole, pancetta, and a bread crumb topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States