Collard Greens and Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
Really fast and easy. I will use a pork hock or some piece of pork in addition to the bacon plus add some tomatoes and a green pepper for more taste and color the next time I make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Good grief, that's good. I used slightly more bacon and vinegar than the recipe calls for, and I subbed chicken broth for the water. I also cooked the collards for about 2 1/2 hours. WOW.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSERS11581

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
YUMMY, YUMMY! Made this for the first time 2 weeks ago and had to have again. Family and friends couldn't get enough. The only change I made was I used Chicken Broth (low sodium) instead of water. This is definitely a 5 STAR!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gilbertsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
My husband often sees Collard or Mustard greens on cooking shows. Since we both love cooked spinach and swiss chard, we have been curious to try collard greens. Unfortunately in Montana, I never saw fresh collard greens until today. I couldn't wait to get home and try this dish. We absolutely love this dish. The only thing I changed from this recipe was to use chicken broth instead of water, after reading other reviews. We will be having this dish often and will try with other greens when we can find them. My husband has already requested them for supper later this week and he put collared greens on the shopping list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by koolperp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
This was excellent. I didn't have the bacon or the beans, but we had leftover Easter ham and I just sauteed that up in a little olive oil, then followed the rest of the recipe. yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pasadena, Texas, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
I followed the recipe and I wouldn't change a thing. I love it much more than my extended family's version. Excellent and my husband couldn't get enough of this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
The best Melanie.Thank you for this recipe. A meal in and of itself. xo Angie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Better than expected! I added an extra can of beans and some chopped ham to make it a meal. It did turn out really salty, so I would recommend not adding any salt until you can taste it at the end (I added about 1/4 tsp during cooking). If you can find low-sodium bacon, go with that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Excellent! I've never had Southern greens despite having lived in the south for a while. I used a large bunch of yellow stemmed collard greens and a handful of purple frilly looking mustard greens. (They looked so good at the Farmer's Market!) I followed all the directions except adding the liquid and the vinegar. Oh and the beans. When the greens etc were fully wilted it looked and tasted so good that I couldn't see cooking for another 2 hours in liquid. I did add the brown sugar and then served it with balsamic vinegar for sprinkling on top. It was so good I forgot to try the sour cream! I will, some day, try them the traditional way using this recipe, but it was great the way it was! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gluten Free Jeannie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Photo by LA ESPOSA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
This was delicious! I had to use a yellow onion instead of a red one, since it was all I had. I also used Great Northern Beans instead of cannellini. Will need to tone down the spice next time for my kids (maybe only 1/4 tsp. red pepper for them).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Beans and Greens

See how to make a rustic Italian-style beans and greens recipe with escarole.

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Utica Greens and Beans

Tasty beans and greens with escarole, pancetta, and a bread crumb topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States