Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2000
This is a great recipe. I bought packaged coleslaw from the supermarket and then added the onion and dressing. It is the best tasting coleslaw I've ever had and I'll be throwing away my other recipes for coleslaw and only using this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2002
Quick and easy, and mmmmm so good! I eat it as soon as I'm done making it :) ps. for those of you who don't like to use a lot of oil, it tastes just as good with less oil (approximately half).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
I use this recipe (with less sugar when I'm eating it) for nearly all of my raw vegetable salad dishes. Sometimes I chop cucumber, carrot, crushed garlic and tomato and add the oil, vinegar and sugar. For spice, I might add one or more of the following: chili pepper, herbs de provance, oregano, celery seed, pepper flakes, ancho chili powder. When making the slaw with cabbage I use the red kind because it's so beautiful but it does need to to sit for a day as the cabbage needs time to absorb the acid of the vinegar and breakdown some of the "rubbery squeakiness" on the teeth. I also add about a teaspoon of some fresh herb (yesterday it was parsley). I think it needs some green herb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2001
A good and easy alternate to regular creamy coleslaw, for variety, I added about 1/2 tsp. of ground mustard, a little less sugar than what the recipe calls for, and some honey. MMMMMM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2002
Very good and Very easy. I used packaged coleslaw, added red onion. Also good with seasoned rice vinegar. Will definately make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PersonalChefJoni

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Fallbrook, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2003
Right now, I'm giving this recipe 4 stars but I think it will become 5 stars. I took the suggestions of other reviewers and reduced the oil and sugar by 1/2 and used taragon vinegar (3/8 c. rather than 1/4 c.). I also added salt and pepper. It was very, very good but I think I would prefer it with regular cider vinegar. Next time I will try that and post the comparison.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2000
This is a really easy and tasty coleslaw recipe! I prefer to let it marinade - and eat it the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2002
Everyone loved this coleslaw. Next time I'm doubling the recipe. mmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2001
A little too sweet for my liking... I would reduce the amount of sugar by at least half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
I was looking for a good alternative to my creamy slaw that I usually make when I came across this recipe. I used a 16oz package of slaw mix, cut the sugar down to 2 tbls, and used just shy of 1/4 C olive oil. I also added some sea salt and cracked pepper to my taste, 1Tbls honey, and 1 tsp celery seed. This is a great base to "play with" The first taste was so good, I can't wait to taste it after it's been sitting overnight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lola027

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Spicy Peach Coleslaw

Sweet, juicy peaches make this spicy slaw the perfect summer side.

12-Second Coleslaw

See how to make amazing 12-second coleslaw…in about 42 seconds.

Ramen Coleslaw

A crunchy coleslaw with ramen and cabbage in a tangy vinegar dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States