Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
This recipe needs a little something else. Not as sweet as some and not as tangy as the southern kind that goes with BBQ. I'd have to side with those that said it is nothing special. Maybe I will try again with rice vinegar as some suggest. Thanks for contributing the recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MHASHLEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
This recipe is acceptable but unremarkable. Its a bit bland. I made it because I wanted something healthy and low fat. I used less dressing than suggested and like others I cut back on the sugar. I used more veggies also. I used a red cabbage, more carrots, red pepper, cucumber and this made it look better and its healthier. I am going to look for a dressing which is also low fat and calorie but a little tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2005
Perfect and easy - I try to avoid demon refined sugar so I'll skip the sugar, use half the oil and use sweet red onions to give a bit of sweetness back. If Balsamic didn't ruin the aestehtic I'd use that instead of regular vinegar...the tarragon idea was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2004
Substitue 4 tablespoons Splenda in place of sugar. Good classic recipe, easy, easy, easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2004
This salad is very refreshing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2004
I am dieting so I substituted a little less Splenda for sugar and added caraway seed plus salt & pepper. My family thought it was great and they are not on a diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2003
My husband labeled this "a keeper." I used seasoned rice wine vinegar as one of the reviewers suggested. I'll definitelly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2003
Right now, I'm giving this recipe 4 stars but I think it will become 5 stars. I took the suggestions of other reviewers and reduced the oil and sugar by 1/2 and used taragon vinegar (3/8 c. rather than 1/4 c.). I also added salt and pepper. It was very, very good but I think I would prefer it with regular cider vinegar. Next time I will try that and post the comparison.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2003
I didn't like this at all! It wasn't tangy or tasty enough at all! I buy a vinegar & oil coleslaw at the grocery store and it is delicious, but this one just didn't cut the cake for me, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2003
I had to add a little extra vinegar and celery salt to get the flavor right for my husband and I. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Peach Coleslaw

Sweet, juicy peaches make this spicy slaw the perfect summer side.

12-Second Coleslaw

See how to make amazing 12-second coleslaw…in about 42 seconds.

Ramen Coleslaw

A crunchy coleslaw with ramen and cabbage in a tangy vinegar dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States