Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
This is a great slaw. Used 1/8 cup lightly flavored olive oil, subbed 1/8 cup Agave for sugar and used half green and half red cabbage. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATTSBELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
I use a couple of chopped up green onions instead of generic onion, also 1 chopped apple (skin on), substitute apple cider vinegar for generic vinegar, cut back a tad on the sugar and add a touch of honey. Nice fresh flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by faithirene
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Loved the vinegar flavor to this! I served it on pulled pork sandwich. I used a bag of pre-shredded cole slaw from the store. I think it was equivalent to more than a head of cabbage, but still used the same proportions for everything else. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by faithirene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I subbed red cabbage, which was delicious! I cut the sugar in half, and it was still sweet to my taste. Added 1/4 cup more vinegar and fabulous- thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
this was an amazingly good and amazingly easy recipe. I'm not a big coleslaw fan because I don't like mayonnaise. My husband was making dinner and had already shredded the cabbage and carrots (he used Napa cabbage). He asked me to look for a dressing for it and this was the first I found. I didn't add the onion, but I bet it would be good, and made the dressing just as written. I used apple cider vinegar, since they didn't specify. Some reviewers have found it too sweet, but I thought it was perfect! I was so happy to have a non-mayonnaise dressing that was so good! I will definitely make it again. It's much healthier than the usual and so good. The only reason it's not 5 stars is that I just don't like cabbage that much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Doesn't taste as well with olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
I will never make traditional mayo based coleslaw again after making this. I followed the recipe to the letter so I can fairly rate the recipe, ok, not true, I added salt and pepper to taste. This recipe is wonderful, a keeper, so thank you for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
I was looking for a good alternative to my creamy slaw that I usually make when I came across this recipe. I used a 16oz package of slaw mix, cut the sugar down to 2 tbls, and used just shy of 1/4 C olive oil. I also added some sea salt and cracked pepper to my taste, 1Tbls honey, and 1 tsp celery seed. This is a great base to "play with" The first taste was so good, I can't wait to taste it after it's been sitting overnight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lola027

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Very nice and simple recipe. I have also tried it with apple cider vinegar and enjoyed that as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Busymantis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
This is great and healthy! For a twist I used Balsalmic Vinegar and olive oil! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Peach Coleslaw

Sweet, juicy peaches make this spicy slaw the perfect summer side.

12-Second Coleslaw

See how to make amazing 12-second coleslaw…in about 42 seconds.

Ramen Coleslaw

A crunchy coleslaw with ramen and cabbage in a tangy vinegar dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States