Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by faithirene
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Loved the vinegar flavor to this! I served it on pulled pork sandwich. I used a bag of pre-shredded cole slaw from the store. I think it was equivalent to more than a head of cabbage, but still used the same proportions for everything else. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by faithirene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I subbed red cabbage, which was delicious! I cut the sugar in half, and it was still sweet to my taste. Added 1/4 cup more vinegar and fabulous- thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
this was an amazingly good and amazingly easy recipe. I'm not a big coleslaw fan because I don't like mayonnaise. My husband was making dinner and had already shredded the cabbage and carrots (he used Napa cabbage). He asked me to look for a dressing for it and this was the first I found. I didn't add the onion, but I bet it would be good, and made the dressing just as written. I used apple cider vinegar, since they didn't specify. Some reviewers have found it too sweet, but I thought it was perfect! I was so happy to have a non-mayonnaise dressing that was so good! I will definitely make it again. It's much healthier than the usual and so good. The only reason it's not 5 stars is that I just don't like cabbage that much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Doesn't taste as well with olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
I will never make traditional mayo based coleslaw again after making this. I followed the recipe to the letter so I can fairly rate the recipe, ok, not true, I added salt and pepper to taste. This recipe is wonderful, a keeper, so thank you for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
I was looking for a good alternative to my creamy slaw that I usually make when I came across this recipe. I used a 16oz package of slaw mix, cut the sugar down to 2 tbls, and used just shy of 1/4 C olive oil. I also added some sea salt and cracked pepper to my taste, 1Tbls honey, and 1 tsp celery seed. This is a great base to "play with" The first taste was so good, I can't wait to taste it after it's been sitting overnight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lola027

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Very nice and simple recipe. I have also tried it with apple cider vinegar and enjoyed that as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Busymantis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
This is great and healthy! For a twist I used Balsalmic Vinegar and olive oil! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Really enjoyed this as it is not mayonaised based. Used red onion since that is what I had. Put it on kalua pork sandwiches. Very good by itself too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
Great! The hubs doesn't like mayo or mustard, so cole slaw was never an option. But I thought this recipe sounded yummy, subbed in rice vinegar, cut down the sugar as suggested, and thought it was a great light + easy side for our grilled chicken dinner! To be perfectly honest, the hubs wasn't a huge fan, but he's not generally a fan of any veggies except raw carrots -- but he added Italian dressing and was good to go :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ramen Coleslaw

A crunchy coleslaw with ramen and cabbage in a tangy vinegar dressing.

Spicy Peach Coleslaw

Sweet, juicy peaches make this spicy slaw the perfect summer side.

12-Second Coleslaw

See how to make amazing 12-second coleslaw…in about 42 seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States