Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
This is a great recipe as is! For fun I added some celery seed and a teaspoon of hot curry powder. As another reviewer said - this is a great base recipe as is - but the possibilities of having fun with it are endless. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
This wasn't like normal coleslaw, so don't go into it thinking it will taste the same! But it had an interesting flavor and went well with ribs and baked beans. I used apple cider vinegar and about half the amount of oil (I used sunflower oil) and half the amount of sugar. I wish I could have left out the sugar altogether, but it was necessary to counter the tartness of the vinegar. Altogether a good recipe for non-mayo-eating people who like BBQ :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Delicious. I heated the ingredients (oil, vinegar, sugar) and then poured over the coleslaw. It is quite sweet, some may prefer to use less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
This is a very good basic recipe, but a bit too sweet for me, so start with less sugar and add to taste. I happened to be out of veg oil, so I used 1/8 C olive oil and 1/8 C almond oil, which gave it a wonderful nutty taste. I also added 1/4 tsp Coleman's mustard and some ground celery seed. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
I prefer a more savory coleslaw and less sweet, so I omitted the onion and sugar, then added about 1/2 tsp. of pepper, and about 1/2 tsp. of salt. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
This was a great tasting recipe. I added an extra carrot and substituted Splenda for the sugar. My husband and son loved it. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
This is a great slaw. Used 1/8 cup lightly flavored olive oil, subbed 1/8 cup Agave for sugar and used half green and half red cabbage. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATTSBELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
I use a couple of chopped up green onions instead of generic onion, also 1 chopped apple (skin on), substitute apple cider vinegar for generic vinegar, cut back a tad on the sugar and add a touch of honey. Nice fresh flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by faithirene
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Loved the vinegar flavor to this! I served it on pulled pork sandwich. I used a bag of pre-shredded cole slaw from the store. I think it was equivalent to more than a head of cabbage, but still used the same proportions for everything else. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by faithirene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I subbed red cabbage, which was delicious! I cut the sugar in half, and it was still sweet to my taste. Added 1/4 cup more vinegar and fabulous- thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Peach Coleslaw

Sweet, juicy peaches make this spicy slaw the perfect summer side.

12-Second Coleslaw

See how to make amazing 12-second coleslaw…in about 42 seconds.

Ramen Coleslaw

A crunchy coleslaw with ramen and cabbage in a tangy vinegar dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States